Official Marvel Champions FFG Rulings

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is patreon-transparent-button-2-1.png

Here is a quick collection of rulings released by official FFG channels. Rules will be compiled for the lifetime of the game, so make sure you bookmark the page and come back to it periodically if you have a question. Expansions will be listed in chronological order with a heading for easy search capabilities.

Here are links to the the most recently updated Rules Reference Guide (FAQ) and the Learn to Play booklets.

If you have a question for FFG, you can submit it on the Rules Question Form.

Here is an unofficial restricted/taboo list designed by community members and Hall of Heroes.

You can find a timing chart here from community member Apotropaic.

If you have a verifiable answer from FFG for this page, email us at hallofheroescontact(at)gmail.com.


1.3

1.0 | 1.1 | 1.2


Core Set | “You” | Klaw | Ultron | Captain Marvel | Iron Man | She-Hulk | Spider-Man | Black Panther | Expansion cards

Ms. Marvel | Captain America | Green Goblin | Wrecking Crew | Thor | Black Widow | Doctor Strange | Ronan | Hulk

Rise of Red Skull | Hawkeye | Spider-Woman | Kang | Ant-Man | Quicksilver | Errata


Core Set questions

What happens if a boost card like Concussive Blast kills an ally with one remaining health left? Is the attack undefended?

If a defending ally is defeated by a boost card effect, then the rest of the attack must be resolved as undefended.

-[Marvel Champions LCG Designer] Caleb Grace

Does Tigra heal before she takes the last point of consequential damage if she only has one health left when attacking?

Dealing consequential damage is the very last thing that you will do when you use an ally’s basic THW or ATK. That means that Tigra can stay on the table indefinitely so long as she is only used to defeat a minion with her ATK.

-Caleb

Does Vision’s ability last if he is discarded and re-enters play? (i.e. if he has 1 health left, and I spend an energy resource to give him +2 ATK, then he attacks and is discarded, and I replay him using Make the Call, does he still have +2 ATK, or is it considered a different copy of the card after leaving and re-entering play?).

No, it will not. The Vision that was boosted left play, and the Vision that entered play after has not triggered its ability yet.

-Caleb

If an ally is Confused or Stunned, and I use them to thwart/attack, do they still take consequential damage?

No. Consequential Damage occurs after an ally thwarts/attacks; because the attack/thwart never occurs, the consequential damage never occurs either.

-Caleb

How are minion attacks ordered?

Minions engaged with you attack in the order of your choice. However, all minions activate after the villain activates.

-Caleb

If a Weapons Runner is revealed from the encounter deck, and I use Hawkeye’s response to immediately defeat it, does Surge still trigger?

Yes. The Weapons Runner was still revealed, so any Surge or When Revealed effects would still occur.

-Caleb

If a minion engages with me during the villain’s activation, or during a minion’s activation, will it activate against me?

If that minion engages with you before the end of your minions’ activation step, it will also activate. If the minion engages with you after the end of your minions’ activation step, it will not activate.

-Caleb

How does retaliate interact with responses to the attack? For example, if Hulk attacks Whiplash, does retaliate activate before or after his forced response?

Retaliate is a constant ability, which means it is constantly checking the game state for its triggering condition and it resolves immediately after it is met. This means it resolves immediately after Whiplash is attacked before any other response effects can trigger, so Hulk’s forced response would be resolved after the retaliate keyword.

-Caleb

Can you trigger Chase Them Down after defeating a villain stage?

Yes, defeating a villain stage is defeating an enemy.

-Caleb

If I draw the Affairs of State obligation, can I choose the second option if I have no Black Panther upgrades in play?

No. You cannot choose an option that would have no effect on the game, unless you have no other viable options. If you are in alter-ego form and ready, and you have no Black Panther upgrades in play, you must exhaust T’Challa.

-Caleb

Who “controls” Inspired after it enters play on another player’s ally? The reason I ask, is that the rules reference says that when a card changes control, upgrades or attachments also change control. But, I don’t see anything which says that upgrades or attachments change control when they enter play.

[Second], can I play inspired on someone else’s ally, and if I do, they gain control of it?

The player who controls the ally gains control of all player card upgrades on that ally.

[Second], yes.

-Caleb

When playing Make the Call, do “The Power of [Aspect]” resource cards (such as The Power of Leadership) generate 1 resource or 2 resources?

Make the Call’s text states “Action: Pay the printed cost of an ally in any player’s discard pile…”, meaning the player is paying the cost of the ally itself.

If that ally’s aspect matches that of The Power of [Aspect] card, then The Power of [Aspect] card will generate 2 resources. However, if that ally’s aspect does not match, The Power of [Aspect] card will only generate 1 resource.

Official FAQ (1.2)

In v1.2 of the RRG it states under ability that “Card abilities cannot resolve during game setup, unless prefaced by a “Setup” timing trigger.” During Setup step 10 it states to resolve any when revealed abilities that entered play but those without Setup on them would not be allowed to resolve (which currently includes all of them). Can when resolved abilities that do not have setup resolve during the setup phase (despite the 6th dot point under abilities stating otherwise)

There was a typo with this rules update. It should read: “Player card abilities cannot resolve during game setup…”

-Caleb

If an encounter card is dealt to player one during player two’s turn in a two player game, does player one have to reveal that encounter card this turn?

In the situation you described, you would continue to reveal cards until there were no cards left to reveal. You haven’t actually completed step 4 until all cards have been revealed.

-Caleb

Can you request an action to remove an encounter card attachment for another player, like say, with Black Panther’s Vibranium, out of turn like all other actions?

That sounds like a small oversight to me. You absolutely can ask a friend to resolve the Hero Action on an encounter card during your turn.

-Caleb

Underground Distribution 1A says to search the encounter deck for Defense Network and “reveal it.” Defense Network says “when revealed, place an addition 1 per-person threat here.”

Would Underground Distribution 1A reveal the card, then would Defense Network also reveal itself? In other words, would the card be “revealed twice?” Or is 2A merely qualifying the reveal by stating it’s not “put into play?”

It’s not revealed twice. The instruction to ‘reveal it’ means that you should resolve staging the card as if it was revealed from the encounter deck, that includes resolving its ‘when revealed’ effect and putting it into play.

-Caleb

So when resolving dealt encounter cards, I always assumed you could pick the order that they are resolved in. The RRG mentions that the first player reveals “each of their encounter cards” with no order.

But the RRG also mentions under dealt, that extra encounter cards “are added to a queue of cards that are being dealt.” Does the phrase “queue” here mean anything? Do you need to keep track of which encounter cards are dealt first when resolving them later on a stack?

The order you reveal encounter cards does not matter. The one exception is if you reveal a card with surge, you must reveal the top card of the encounter deck immediately after resolving that card, even if you still have a facedown encounter card in front of you.

-Caleb

Villain phase question. Two player game, both in hero form. Player A is first player and has 4 HP left and is engaged with 2 minions. Minion 1 and minion 2. Scenario 1: Player A is defeated due to Minion 1s attack. In the rules these minions are then passed to the next Player, Player B. Player B then takes their villain activation.

Does Minion 1 attack a second time that villain turn (as he is engaged with each player for their activation?). Does Minion 2 also resolve 2 attacks or does the attack against the defeated player fizzle? Scenario 2: Same question but player A now is defeated by the villain. Both minions move. Do you resolve attacks for player A and then repeat for B?

Each minion engaged with a hero will attack that hero during the villain phase regardless of whether or not it has attacked another player already.

-Caleb

Is damage from a boost ability considered part of the attack for abilities like Green Goblin’s forced response and Rhino’s Stampede treachery?

Damage from boost effects is not considered to be damage from an attack. Damage from an attack is only the villain’s ATK plus any modifiers (attachments & boost icons).

-Caleb

When you defeat the first stage of a villain with Retaliate (using an attack), does the Retaliate trigger? Retaliate says “The character must survive the attack to deal this damage.” and I’m not sure how that interacts with Villain Stages.

If the new villain stage that entered play as the result of your attack has retaliate, then you must resolve it.

-Caleb

Is it possible to create an infinite loop if you empty your deck and discard pile?

If you should happen to empty your deck and discard pile of cards completely, you will lose the game as it will trigger an infinite loop. You will have to deal yourself an encounter card an infinite number of times until the encounter deck runes out, at which point you will have to place an infinite number of acceleration tokens on the main scheme.

It is better to leave a healthy number of cards in your deck and discard pile to ensure that does not happen.

-Caleb

My question is in regards to backflip and overkill. If you blocked with an ally you couldn’t use backflip against the overkill damage as it’s not an attack.

But what would happen if you defended a villain attack with an ally with one HP left, then that ally was killed with concussive blast: could you then use backflip to negate the damage of the attack? There is no overkill damage in that instance as it’s re-directed.

Is using backflip legit in this rare case?

You do not have to defend with Spider-Man to play Backflip. You only have to be the target of the attack (i.e. the defending player). If an enemy with overkill defeats your ally, you can still Backflip to avoid the rest of the damage.

If your defending ally is defeated before the attack resolves, you can Backflip to avoid the damage. You can Backflip any time that you would take damage from an attack to prevent that damage.

-Caleb

Does order matter when discarding cards for Futurist or Repulsor Blast? Or can you re-order as you like, such that (for instance) the tech card you want is highest in your discard for Stark Tower.

You should not manipulate the order that cards are discarded from your deck unless you are told that you can by card effect.

-Caleb

Does Stampede: “Rhino attacks you. If a character is damaged by this attack, that character is stunned.” stun you before responses to the attack/defense (such as Counter-Punch)?

Yes. Stampede creates a lasting effect that resolves immediately as soon as you take damage from the attack. If you played Counter Punch after being damaged by a Stampede attack, you would only remove the stun.

-Caleb

Is Overkill damage consider “damage from an attack”? And, if so, why does it not trigger Retaliate?

Overkill damage is damage from an attack. It does not trigger Retaliate because Retaliate triggers “After this character is attacked…” When your hero takes overkill damage they were not attacked; it was the ally who was attacked.

-Caleb

I have a question about setup and resolving main schemes during setup. So it seems, going off the Learn to Play guide, that the villain deck is set aside. Then, you are supposed to resolve the scheme setup (swap from 1A to 1B) during step 10. For Klaw, that would mean discarding cards from the encounter deck until a minion is discarded, then putting it into play. Would that mean that standard/expert/mods are not in the deck at that point?

You are only supposed to “create the encounter deck” at step 11, as per the Learn to Play guide. So Klaw’s main scheme technically wouldn’t be able to fire, as it says to “discard cards from the encounter deck” during step 10, but the “encounter deck” isn’t actually built until step 11. This seems like an oversight, but clarification on the steps would be helpful. Ultimately, does Klaw’s main scheme fire before mods are added? So it would never allow you to trigger Masters of Evil, for instance? Just the minions in the Klaw set? Also, when you’re done discarding, do you reshuffle the cards in the discard pile back into the encounter deck when you build it for step 11?

I’m sorry for the confusion. The “Learn to Play” setup is really for learning your first game with Rhino. After that you should refer to the Setup instructions on page 19 of the Rules Reference. The encounter deck is really constructed during step 10 “Resolve Scheme Setup.”

The Contents portion of the main scheme is resolved before the Setup portion. We will be updating our online Rules Reference to make this more clear. In any case, build the encounter deck as described in Contents before resolving the Setup ability on the main scheme.

-Caleb

When I resolve an encounter card like Advance, I give the villain 1 boost card (the last card of encounter deck). Then, does Advance go to discard pile after or before I resolved the scheme?

You discard a treachery once you have resolved its effects. In this case, you discard the treachery as soon as you deal the villain a boost card because that is the first step in the villain scheming. That means the treachery would be in the discard pile when you reshuffle.

-Caleb

I know it’s not possible in the current card pool, but if a character were to gain Retaliate 1 from two different sources would they stack to become Retaliate 2?

Yes, if a character with Retaliate 1 gained another instance of Retaliate 1, that character would have Retaliate 2.

-Caleb

I’d like to clarify if it is still correct under the new obligation rules. In particular, I believe that discarding an obligation is a game state change (as “discard this obligation” is the entire effect of several actions). So, it seems to me that discarding Affairs of State is sufficient to change the game state, regardless of whether or not a Black Panther upgrade is discarded. If so, I see no reason you couldn’t choose it, even if the first option on his obligation is available.

It’s not just about if it changes the game state, the rules say that you must choose an option that you can fully resolve. So if you can exhaust T’Challa but you can’t discard a Black Panther upgrade, then you must exhaust T’Challa.

-Caleb

My question concerns both the ‘masterplan’ treachery and ‘the masters of evil’ side scheme. I reveal ‘masterplan’. There are no side schemes currently in play. I perform the effect of ‘discard cards from the top of the deck until a side scheme is discarded’. I discard cards until I discard ‘the masters of evil’ side scheme. However, ‘masters of Evil ‘ was the final card in the encounter deck. What happens?

If Masterplan causes you to discard from the encounter deck until you discard The Masters of Evil, which is also the last card in the deck, here is what would happen:

  1. The Masters of Evil would get shuffled back into the encounter deck with the rest of the discard pile, and you would get an acceleration token.
  2. You would search the encounter deck for The Masters of Evil side scheme and reveal it after shuffling the encounter deck. 

It would have to happen this way because you resolve effects one sentence at a time. Masterplan’s second sentence has you discard for a side scheme, and the third sentence has you reveal it. So you would be forced to reset the encounter deck after resolving the second sentence. Then the third sentence tells you to “Reveal that side scheme” so you would have to go get it.That said, if I were playing I would skip shuffling it into the encounter deck because I’m just going to have to go get it and shuffle again.

-Caleb

Here the setup. Rhino has Charge (overkill) and with a boost is attacking for 7 I block his attack with a 4 health ally that has Tough. Which is the right result? The entire attack absorbed by the ally as it has Tough which prevents the damage. The ally takes 4 damage ( it’s health ) and the hero takes 3 damage. The Tough then prevents the 4 damage the ally takes. The ally takes 4 damage which is prevented by Tough, but it is not defeated so there is no overkill.

The tough status card prevent all 7 damage. Thank goodness for Luke Cage, right?

-Caleb

I was working through some timing situations, and came across an oddity that I’m not sure how to handle: “When Defeated”. When do those abilities trigger? In particular, if a HYDRA Soldier had Biomechanical Upgrades, would I get an extra encounter card before he heals, or would he heal first and the extra encounter card would not trigger?

Similarly for Overrun (Mutagen Formula) and Followed: do I get the possible Goblin Minion first, then damage it with Followed, or does Followed trigger its damage before the minion comes into play?

Biomechanical Upgrades prevents the minion from actually being defeated and heals it instead. That means when you would defeat a Hydra Soldier with Biomechanical Upgrades attached, you will not resolve the Hydra Soldier’s ability because it wasn’t actually defeated yet. Followed will always resolve its ability before the ‘when defeated’ ability on the attached scheme card. This is because Interrupt effects must be resolved immediately before the thing that they interrupt.

-Caleb

When activating Black Widow, who is the target for the revealed card?

If you triggered Black Widow’s ability, then you are instructed to reveal another card from the encounter deck.

-Caleb

More Black Widow Questions: -When exactly does her ability trigger? –Does it trigger after you flip over a card in the encounter phase? –What if you “reveal” an encounter card due to the Villain stage changing during the player phase? Does it matter if the card came from the deck or discard pile?

Black Widow’s cancel ability triggers immediately after you flip a card over and before resolving its effects. Her ability works any time you reveal a card that came from the encounter deck. Her ability will not work if you reveal a card that came from somewhere besides the encounter deck (i.e. the discard pile or other out-of-play state)

-Caleb


You

How is “You” defined?

In Marvel Champions, each player takes on the role of a Marvel Hero, represented by the identity card. Essentially, the player is their identity card while playing the game.

While interpreting card text, if the word “you” can be interpreted as referring to the player, it should be interpreted as such. For example, Interrogation Room reads, “After you defeat a minion, exhaust Interrogation Room…” Any time the player controlling this card defeats a minion, the ability may be used.

If a specific character is required to interpret an ability using the word “you,” the identity card is the character that must be used. For example, Toe to Toe reads, “Hero Action (attack): Choose an enemy. That enemy attacks you.” As attacks are directed against individual characters, “you” refers to the identity card of the of the player who played this event.

-Official FAQ (1.1)

For further clarification, how does one interpret the phrase “You” for cards like Electro?

Villains and minions activate against the player, so Electro’s ability resolves against the player he attacks. If you defend with an ally, he has still attacked you – the player.

-Caleb

“You” clarification as of May 2020

We have received a lot of questions regarding the use of the word “you” in our game, and our answer has evolved with time as our original answers did not sufficiently clarify everything. That is why you are right to point out the difference between the two answers you quoted.

The original answer to the Interrogation Room question was from a long time ago, and the Unflappable answer was more recent. We will be updating the online Rules Reference guide again in the near future, and we plan to update the entry for the word “you” again.

I expect the entry to make it clear that “you” refers only to your identity whenever possible, which will reinforce the Unflappable answer while possibly changing the interaction with Interrogation Room. In the meantime, I am encouraging players to play the game as if the word “you” only refers to your identity wherever possible.

-Caleb

So, I’ve seen the suggestion that “you” be treated like the identity for all cases where it can be, and I’m curious how it interacts with Interrogation Room/Hall of Heroes: “When you defeat an enemy”. Particularly cards like Ground Stomp, Lightning Strike, or “Do you Even Lift”, where the “hero” is effectively dealing damage, but not through an attack.

Do any of these trigger those cards? What about if I spend the resources to remove Advanced Ultron Drones and defeat several drones that way, is that my hero doing it (it’s a Hero Action, if that makes a difference). Or What about using a Tac Team to defeat a minion, would that trigger the above cards?

Events like Ground Stomp, and Hero Actions like the one on Advanced Ultron Drones, represent things your hero is doing, so that counts as “you.” Support cards like Tac Team represent other entities that are assisting your hero, so they do not count as “you.” The same is obviously true for allies.

-Caleb

Regarding the latest “You” ruling it still seems very unclear. For instance: if I am Spider-Woman and trigger Energy Barrier to defeat a minion, does that trigger Hall of Heroes’ response? Would triggering Jjarnbjorn also allow me to place a counter on Hall of Heroes?

Upgrades are things your hero wears and wields, so when you use an upgrade to defeat a minion that count as your hero (or you) defeating that minion.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Klaw

Question regarding Counterpunch and Sonic Converter. When does the trigger for Counterpunch occur during the Villain attacks sequence. I’ve had some people play it after they exhaust to defend, and some wait until the full attack is completed. If it’s at the end of the entire attack, does it trigger before or after Sonic Converter (Klaw)?

Both cards share the same timing: “after attacks” & “after defends” both resolve immediately after the attack resolves. However, Sonic Converter is a Forced Response which takes priority over a regular Response because it is not a choice. So you would be stunned before you could play Counter Punch.

-Caleb

If I reveal Sonic Boom, and all my characters are already exhausted, can I still choose the option to exhaust all characters I control?

No. If possible, you would have to spend the resources, if all the characters you control are already exhausted.

Sonic Boom is a choice, but you must choose an option that you can fulfill. If you cannot fulfill either option, then you must do as much as you can, which typically means discarding one or two different resource icons from your hand.

-Caleb

As a follow-up for Sonic Boom, what you have all 3 resources and 3 characters but one of those characters is exhausted? I can pay the resources but I can’t exhaust all of my characters.

If you can completely fulfill just one of the options, then you must choose that option. If you can fulfill both, then you can choose which one to fulfill.

If all your characters are exhausted, then you must choose to discard cards from your hand. If some of your characters are already exhausted and you do not have all 3 resources in your hand, then choose one option and fulfill as much as you can.

-Caleb

If you defeat a stage of Klaw and Immortal Klaw is in play, will the next stage still get the +10 hit points?

Yes. So long as Immortal Klaw is in play, Klaw will get +10 hit points. When you advance to Klaw II, you will set his hit points and then add 10 for the side scheme.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Ultron

If Ultron is in stage III, and there are drone minions in play, will actions that deal damage to all enemies (like Energy Daggers or Ground Stomp) do damage to Ultron?

No. Ultron’s invulnerability is absolute, which means any damage that would be dealt to him would be cancelled while drone minions are in play.

Note that this holds even if that action would remove all drone minions from play; since all damage is dealt simultaneously, and the drone minions are in play when the damage is dealt, the damage would not be dealt to Ultron.

-Caleb

Similarly for Overkill, is it the same, or does it work differently in this case?

Overkill will work because it defeats the minion first and then excess damage is applied to the villain.

-Caleb

Rage of Ultron says to discard X cards from your library for each damage dealt by the attack it causes. Let’s say it boosts and does 5 damage. What if you had 1 health remaining with Captain America and had his helmet equipped?

5 damage was dealt, even if you only had 1 hp remaining. So you would discard the top 5 cards of your deck.

-Caleb

Does Ultron II’s attack get modified if, for instance, a boost results in a drone entering play?

Yes, if the number of drone minions engaged with you changes before Ultron’s attack resolves, then you will recalculate Ultron’s attack as a result.

-Caleb

If threat is prevented from being placed on the main scheme Assault on Norad (2B) in step one of the villain phase, does the Forced Response still trigger?

No. Because the triggering condition did not occur, any responses to that triggering condition also would not occur.

-Caleb

At what step in the attack sequence does Ultron II’s Forced Interrupt trigger?

Ultron II’s ability triggers immediately after he initiates his attack. That happens before defenders are declared. So the original target always gets the drone.

-Caleb

I’m being attacked by Ultron II, with 2 HP left and Nova in play. Which interrupt triggers first?

The Forced Response triggers before you can trigger a player Response.

-Caleb

Can MODOK’s Biomechanical Upgrade be attached to a face-down Ultron drone?

Yes, the Ultron drone environment card gives each facedown drone minion engaged with a player base stats of 1/1/1. Base stats can also be interpreted as printed. The key is that you are not counting modifiers that give “+ stats.”

-Caleb

If I only have one card left in my deck, do I still put two cards facedown for Ultron’s Imperative?

Put the second drone into play after reshuffling your deck and dealing yourself a facedown encounter card.

-Caleb

I’m playing Spider-Man, facing Ultron II. Ultron attacks me. Which happens first – Ultron’s Forced “when Ultron attacks” Interrupt, or Spider-Man’s non-forced “when a villain initiates an attack” Interrupt?

There is no timing difference between “attacks” and “initiates an attack” so the Forced Interrupt would take priority over the Interrupt. We used the “initiates an attack” language with Spider-man because early testers showed some confusion about when to trigger his ability, and phrasing it this way helped them to understand.

-Caleb

Ultron I (and other similar effects) read: “Forced Response: after XXX attacks you…” for the new you ruling, it appears that this can be interpreted as identity (since Retaliate triggers “after this character is attacked”). But that suggests that if an ally defends the attack, Ultron I doesn’t trigger? (Note: this similarly effects: Goblin Knight, Electro, Pumpkin Bombs, Radioactive Man, Thunderball, etc).

Attacks are always made against a player. If you choose to defend with an ally, the attack was still against you. It is just defended by your ally. I know that’s not clear with the current rules reference. We’re going to be updating that as soon as our schedule allows.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Captain Marvel

Is Energy Channel‘s damage all at once? Like, if I had 5 counters, and attacked an enemy that had Tough, would it do 8 damage or 0?

It’s all at once.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Iron Man

Does Pepper Potts generate 2 resources if a card with 2 printed resources (such as Energy, Genius, or Strength) is on top of the discard pile?

[Second], will Pepper Potts generate 2 resources if a “The Power of [Aspect]” resource card (such as The Power of Aggression) is on top of the discard pile?

[Third], can Pepper Potts generate the resources of a card that is currently being spent?

Yes. Pepper Potts generates a number of resources that are equal in quantity and type to the resources on the top card of the discard pile.

[Second], no. Though the resources that Pepper Potts generates are equal in quantity and type to the resources of the top card of the discard pile, Pepper Potts is the card that is generating these resources. This means that a “The Power of [Aspect]” card never generates resources itself, having no opportunity to generate additional resources for a card of its specified aspect.

[Third], no. Resources are generated simultaneously, meaning the spent card will not be on top of the discard pile at the time Pepper Potts uses her ability.

-Official FAQ (1.1)

If Iron Man has 1 hit point remaining and his Rocket Boots upgrade is discarded from play, is Iron Man defeated?

Yes. If an ability that modifies hit points expires or otherwise becomes inactive, the modified hit points revert to the value they would be without the modifier. In this case, Iron Man’s hit points would revert to 0, instantly defeating him.

-Official FAQ (1.1)

Can Repulsor Blast’s first point of damage remove a tough status card from an enemy, then its additional damage deal damage to that enemy?

The additional damage that Repulsor Blast deals is a simultaneous modification of its first point of damage. For instance, if a player were to discard 2 energy resources due to Repulsor Blast, they would deal a total of 5 damage to an enemy all at once, as the additional 4 damage dealt by the discard effect happens at the same time as the first point of damage.

Official FAQ (1.3)

Back to top.


She-Hulk

Can Jennifer Walters remove threat from a side scheme as it enters play?

No. Side schemes enter play with threat already on them, meaning threat is not “placed” at this point.

-Official FAQ (1.1)

If threat is placed on a scheme during game setup, does Jennifer Walters’ ability trigger?

No. Abilities that do not have the ”Setup” timing trigger cannot resolve during game setup.

-Official FAQ (1.2)

Can Legal Practice remove threat from multiple schemes simultaneously?

No. All of the threat removed by Legal Practice must be removed from a single scheme.

-Official FAQ (1.1)

For She-Hulk’s Superhuman Strength card, is it possible to keep the villain stunlocked and perpetually keep She-Hulk at 5 or 7 (with two copies) attack?

No, you must discard Superhuman Strength after She-Hulk makes a basic attack regardless of whether or not the villain is already stunned.

-Caleb

So the first part of Superhuman Strength makes sense: +2 ATK. But the second part, the forced response, puzzled me a bit. It says “After She-Hulk attacks, discard superhuman strength->stun the attacked enemy.

If that interaction is correct, that doesn’t seem to line up with the theme of the card. Shouldn’t the forced response say “after She-Hulk makes a basic attack?” Otherwise, the +2 ATK could be wasted if you use an (attack) card: it would just get discarded before you get to use that +2 ATK. Is that the intention or does the card need a rewording to add basic attack?

We decided together that it was okay to leave Superhuman Strength the way it was written because it opened the card up to more combos, and it didn’t break anything.

While it can create a situation where you miss out on the +2 ATK, that is ultimately the player’s choice. You can play an Attack event to trigger Superhuman Strength and stun the attacked enemy.

-Caleb

I do have a follow-up question though. If it isn’t tied to a basic attack, does the stun apply to both enemies if you use Melee with She-Hulk? If yes/no, why/why not?

Superhuman Strength says “Stun the attacked enemy” singular, so I would say choose one of the enemies you attacked with melee and stun that one.

-Caleb

Can you use She-Hulk’s Focused Rage to take 1 damage, then use Energy Barrier to prevent that damage (“when you would take any amount of damage”), then draw a card from Focused Rage?

You must pay the cost fully before you can trigger the effect. If the cost is to take a damage but you prevent the damage, then you have not paid the cost and therefore cannot resolve the effect.

-Caleb

Can you use Focused Rage to take a damage, then use the Energy Barrier interrupt to prevent that damage, then deal a damage to an enemy, without drawing that card from Focused Rage?

You can use Energy Barrier to cancel the damage from Focused Rage and deal 1 damage to an enemy instead. You will not draw a card from Focused Rage since you did not pay the full cost, but the rest of that interaction is legit.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Spider-Man

When does the villain “initiate” an attack against Spider-Man?

An attack is “initiated” the moment the game determines an attack will be made against a character. This includes attacks made from game steps (such as step 2 of the villain phase) and card abilities (such as an attack initiated by the “Assault” treachery).

Spider Man’s ability resolves before any of the steps of the process detailed in the “Enemy Attacks” section are performed.

-Official FAQ (1.1)

How many attacks does Webbed Up prevent?

[Second], does Webbed Up prevent Spider-Sense from triggering?

Two attacks in total. Webbed Up prevents the attached enemy’s very next attack by replacing that attack with the placement of a stun status card. Then, the stun status card will prevent that enemy’s following attack.

[Second], yes. Webbed Up’s ability is a replacement effect (indicated by the word “instead”), meaning the attack never initiates

-Official FAQ (1.1)

How does Enhanced Spider-Sense interact with Media Coverage? Does Media Coverage allow the When Revealed effect to still trigger once, or does it being canceled effectively stop Media Coverage from resolving it. Media Coverage: “Resolve each “When Revealed” ability that you reveal 1 additional time.” Enhanced Spider-Sense: Hero Interrupt: When a treachery card is revealed from the encounter deck, cancel its “When Revealed” effects.

Enhanced Spider-Sense cancels all the When Revealed effects on a treachery, so any additional When Revealed effects caused by Media Coverage will be canceled as well.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Black Panther

If an enemy initiates an attack against Black Panther but another hero or an ally defends against that attack, will Black Panther’s retaliate ability trigger?

[Second], if Black Panther defends against an attack, will his retaliate ability trigger?

No. Black Panther himself must be attacked for retaliate to trigger.

[Second], yes. As long as Black Panther himself is attacked, retaliate will trigger.

-Official FAQ (1.1)

Can Ancestral Knowledge shuffle different versions of Wakanda Forever into Black Panther’s deck?

No. Cards with the same title are considered to be the same card for the purpose of card abilities.

-Official FAQ (1.1)

Does moving damage with Vibranium Suit discard tough status cards from the target enemy?

Yes. If damage is moved to a character, the moved damage is considered to be dealt to that character.

-Official FAQ (1.1)

Back to top.


Expansion Basic and Aspect questions

Say I have Avenger’s Tower on the table and I have three Avengers allies out. If I play Maria Hill as the fourth ally, would her ability go off to draw cards as she hits the table, then would one ally need to be discarded (since the “all Avengers allies” requirement of Avenger’s Tower would not be met)? What is the order of operations with this interaction?

The ability on Avenger’s Tower doesn’t come into play in this scenario because Maria Hill does not have the Avenger trait. Instead, the regular limit of 3 is what’s a play.

The rules for playing an ally when you already control your max is that you must immediately discard one you control. This happens simultaneously to the new ally entering play, so that the number of allies you control never changes.

So, to resolve the situation you described, you would play Maria Hill and discard one of your other allies at the same time. After Maria enters play, then you can resolve her Response effect.

-Caleb

For Honorary Avenger, the card says “only play if your identity has the Avengers trait.” Can you play this card if you’re, in this example, currently flipped to the T’Challa alter-ego side of your identity, which does not have the Avengers trait?

If you are T’Challa, then you do not have the Avenger trait, and you cannot play Honorary Avenger. You must flip to Black Panther who has the Avenger trait before you can play the upgrade.

-Caleb

Can I use Counter Punch in response to a villain’s attack when a minion with Guard is engaged with me?

No, you cannot attack the villain while a guard minion is engaged with you, and Counter-Punch is an attack.

-Caleb

Can Luke Cage, with toughness, take a large torrent of indirect damage from a villain like Green Goblin in one swoop?

The first thing to keep in mind is that while assigning indirect damage, a character cannot be assigned more indirect damage than would cause it to be defeated (page 9 under “Indirect Damage”). This is assessed without accounting for interactions with other abilities. For clarity, I’ll make sure this bolded point is added under the “Indirect Damage” section during the next Rules Reference update.

Concerning Luke Cage specifically, you can only assign an amount of indirect damage to him that is equal to or less than his remaining hit points (it doesn’t matter if he has a tough status card or not). If, for example, you just put Luke Cage into play, he would presumably have 5 hit points remaining. Let’s say you then took 6 indirect damage; you could assign 5 of that indirect damage to Luke Cage, with the remaining 1 point of indirect damage needing to be assigned elsewhere.

However, because Luke Cage just came into play, he’d most likely have a tough status card. As damage is always dealt/assigned/taken in packets, his tough status card would prevent all 5 of the indirect damage assigned to him.

-[Marvel Champions Card Game Developer] Michael Boggs

I control Vision and play Inspired on him. Then another player plays Enraged on him. Then I spend an energy resource to to increase Vision’s ATK and then use Teamwork to add his ATK to my heroes’ ATK. That’s all legit, right?

Seems legit. Cool combo

-Caleb

How does the timing for Expert Defense work?

You must exhaust your hero to defend in order to boost its DEF by 3 for that attack. Also, you must play it immediately after declaring your hero as a defender, which occurs before boost cards are revealed.

-Caleb

If Nova’s ability defeats an attacking enemy, does that enemy’s attack still deal damage?

No. Although the attack sequence has initiated, damage from that attack has not yet been calculated. If Nova defeats the enemy during this step, the rest of the attack sequence fails to resolve.

Official FAQ (1.2)

Followed is a response to the attached scheme being defeated. Responses happen after the triggering condition has resolved. Defeated means a scheme is discarded which causes cards attached to it to also be discarded.

Is the “defeated” response window before the card is discarded (so the scheme is still in play and thus its static effects still ongoing for example Madame Hydra can’t take damage as Legions of Hydra is in play) or is the scheme discarded first and if so how can Followed be triggered as it should also have left play?

Followed should have the bold “Interrupt” trigger instead of the “Response” trigger. We are updating the online rules reference to reflect this.

-Caleb

Is a card like Wiggle Room considered a “defense?” More clarification: Say you didn’t choose to exhaust anything to defend against an attack, then the villain draws a boost.

Then a boost card says “if this attack is undefended, it gets +X attack.” Could you at this point use Wiggle Room, which has the “defense” action on the card, to make the attack defended?

You cannot “defend” an attack by playing a defense card. In order for an attack to be “defended” a character must be declared as a defender. If no character is declared as a defender, then the attack is “undefended.”

-Caleb

Worded differently, can I use parenthetical (defense) events to trigger abilities that say “When your hero defends..” in the same way that I can use (attack) events to trigger abilities that say “When your hero attacks…”?

No, playing a (defense) card does not count as defending. The only way to defend an attack is to exhaust a hero or ally to declare that character as a defender.

-Caleb

Does Toe to Toe interact with stun? It stands to reason since there is no —> cost to be paid, you can use the card when a villain is stunned, it “attacks” (stun token is removed), then 5 damage is dealt to that enemy. Is that correct?

Toe to Toe does not require that the chosen enemy resolves an attack against you in order to deal 5 damage. So if the enemy is stunned, you will still deal 5 damage to it after it removes the stunned status.

-Caleb

For the Quake ally: do minions with a 0 scheme value “scheme” during their minion activation?

An enemy with 0 SCH still schemes if they activate while you are in alter-ego form.

-Caleb

Let’s say Tiger Shark (Masters of Evil) attacks me, and I have Energy Barrier up. Tiger Shark’s card reads “after Tiger Shark attacks, give him a tough status card.” At what point does Tiger Shark get the tough status and at what point is the damage from my Energy Barrier dealt? Energy Barrier says “interrupt,” so I assume you can use it to deal him damage, then the tough card is dealt at the end of Tiger Shark’s attack step.

Energy Barrier interrupts the damage placed by the attack. The attack isn’t over until the damage has been calculated and resolved, so Energy Barrier would need to be resolved before Tiger Shark’s ability would even trigger.

-Caleb

What is the exact timing for the card Espionage? It’s worded as such with the word “when” that has tripped up some players. What if, for instance, I draw a Weapons Runner as an encounter card, with two copes of Espionage in play. I decide to trigger both of them, doing enough damage to kill Weapons Runner with Black Widow’s hero ability. Does it die before the surge triggers?

Espionage triggers just before revealing an extra card for surge. You can draw cards and defeat the Weapons Runner with Black Widow’s ability as you mentioned, but the surge keyword has already triggered and must still be resolved.

-Caleb

Is there a functional difference between the phrase “take 1 damage” from Focused Rage and “deal 1 damage” from Battle Fury? Do the costs need to be paid in both cases?

The words “take” and “deal” are used interchangeably here. In either case, if you were to cancel the damage, then you would have not paid the full cost and you would not get to resolve the rest of the card.

-Caleb

I had an interesting interaction occur that I’m curious about; I had “Media Coverage” on my identity, and drew “Shadows of the Past.” With my Nemesis already in play, “Shadows of the Past” should gain surge. But when I trigger the “when revealed” effect a second time, the card gains surge again? As there is no precedence for this, I just wanted to know, can a card have “Surge 2” or can the Surge keyword be on it twice?

A card can indeed gain more than one instance of surge. If a card has two instances of surge, you will have to reveal 2 additional encounter cards.

-Caleb

You noted that “the interaction of Stealth Strike and Loki is different…because Overkill does not require the minion to be actually defeated [to trigger] to deal excess damage to the villain.” But in the latest Rules Reference Guide, it states under Overkill: “If an attack with overkill defeats a minion, excess damage from the attack (damage beyond the minion’s remaining hit points) is dealt to the villain.”

The RRG notes that you do have to defeat a minion for Overkill to work. Will Overkill be getting an errata in the next FAQ? Or is the FAQ incorrect that you need to defeat a minion?

[Michael] Boggs and I had a good talk about this question last week. The examples for Overkill in the RRG are interesting because the language is slightly different for overkill against allies vs overkill against minions. We are going to streamline that language with our next update.

In the end, we agreed that Overkill does not require you to place the minion in the discard pile, but only to apply enough damage so that the minion has no HP remaining. So I believe my original answer stands. 

-Caleb

I had “Media Coverage” on my identity, and drew “Shadows of the Past.” With my Nemesis already in play, “Shadows of the Past” should gain surge. But when I trigger the “when revealed” effect a second time, the card gains surge again? As there is no precedence for this, I just wanted to know, can a card have “Surge 2” or can the Surge keyword be on it twice? Or once the card has Surge can it not gain Surge again?

A card can indeed gain more than one instance of surge. If a card has two instances of surge, you will have to reveal 2 additional encounter cards.

-Caleb

If I have Widow’s Bite out on the table as Black Widow, and Scorpion appears as my encounter card, which has priority: Widow’s Bite (hero response) or quickstrike? Whatever the answer might be, is this priority level found in the RRG? I can’t seem to find it.

I think an order of priority is something we have noted we plan to add to the RRG. When we do, it will go something like this:

  • Constant effects
  • Forced effects
  • Response effects

Quickstrike is like a Forced in effect in that you don’t have a choice: when the minion engages you, it immediately attacks. This will trigger before you have the option to trigger Widow’s Bite. However, you can still trigger Widow’s Bite after the attack begins and before it is resolved. The stun will not prevent the enemy from finishing the attack it already started, but it will prevent the next one. And if 2 damage was actually enough to defeat the minion, the rest of the attack would not resolve.

-Caleb

With Unflappable on the table, if I defend with an ally (thus ‘you’ the player defended) and my identity takes no damage (thus ‘you’ the character took no damage) would I draw a card?

No, Unflappable only triggers when you defend with your hero and take no damage.

-Caleb

Is there a defined definition for “look?” I’m thinking of Heimdall and Spider-Woman’s alter-ego ability specifically. When “looking,” does every player in multiplayer also look at them? The same goes for “search,” which is on Hawkeye’s quiver. Can you place them back in the same order they were, face-up, legally?

When a card instructs a player to look at cards, only that player looks. However, it is a co-op game and there is no rule against telling your teammates what you see. When you search a select number of cards from a deck, you put them back in the same order you looked at them unless instructed to do otherwise.

-Caleb

This is something I’ve always wondered about Energy Barrier. What if a 1-damage minion attacks me and I have all three Energy Barriers out. Can I trigger all of them at once, as it’s interrupt? Ie, can I reflect three damage off one 1-damage source? The wording seems to indicate that the only cost is “when you would take damage,” not taking the damage.

No, you cannot trigger more than 1 Energy Barrier unless you would take more than 1 damage because you resolve them 1 at a time. After you resolve the first one, there is no more damage left to trigger the other ones.

-Caleb

I have a question about melee and the stun status. Stun cancels attacks, and melee’s ability is two separates instances as stated in another rules clarification. Does this also mean that those two instances are separate abilities? Can I discard the stun status with the first instance, and still use the second instance to deal damage to an enemy?

Melee is one attack with two separate targets. You resolve the damage separately, but it is still a single attack. That means that if you are stunned, playing Melee will only remove the stunned status card and nothing else.

-Caleb

Hello, a follow-up question about Melee (aggression event): previously there was a email that stated its second instance of damage could hit/target the villain if the first instance defeated a Guard minion in play. Is that not the case anymore? If not is this a new change to how the (attack) tag interacts with the Guard keyword?

Yes, this was a reversal of a previous ruling that I had made. After talking it over with Michael Boggs, we both agreed the correct interpretation was that you resolve each line one at a time, meaning that if you defeat a guard minion with the first line you can target the villain with the next line.

-Caleb

If I use pre-emptive strike or attacrobatics to deal damage to an attacking Wrecking Crew member that has one health left, then kill them with that interrupt damage, does that attack still go through? I would assume it wouldn’t because the interrupt kills them as the boost is turned up. I’m also wondering if a future interrupt card can do this for minions, and kill them before the damage is dealt

If you interrupt an enemy attack to deal damage to that enemy, and the damage is sufficient to defeat that enemy, then that enemy leaves play immediately without resolving the rest of its attack. This is true for villains and minions alike.

-Caleb

Followed originally read “Response: When….” but was errata’d to “Interrupt: When…” to make the card functional. Upcoming spoiled card Iron Fist (ally from the Dr. Strange pack) has similar wording to the original Followed text: “Response: When Iron Fist attacks an enemy, remove 1 mystic counter from him -> stun that enemy and deal 1 damage to it.” Currently; some players think this means the stun and damage occur before Iron fist attacks (due to the use of the word then). Should this read “After Iron Fist attacks,”? More general question: should we always expect “Response:” to go with “After” and “Interrupt:” to go with “When”?

Iron Fist’s ability should have the bold Interrupt trigger word instead of Response. It is meant to trigger when he attacks the enemy.

-Caleb

I have a quick question about Night Nurse. As written, if a character had tough, you’d have to remove it to heal 1. Is this intended? I get having to remove a “negative” status effect but I wanted to make sure it was correct that it would remove positive ones too.

That is correct. You do not want to have Night Nurse heal you while you are tough.

-Caleb

If the first damage from Melee defeats the current Villain Stage, can the second instance of damage hit the next Villain Stage? (Are the different stages considered different enemies)

No, different stages of the same villain are not different enemies.

-Caleb

Can you use Get Over Here to re-engage a minion you are already engaged with?

You cannot engage an enemy that is already engaged with you.

-Caleb

I have a question about the obligations in the pack since they work a little differently from Strange’s obligation. Do they “attach” to your play area? How do they work within your play space? Also, can you request an action from other players to remove it, like you can currently for other attachments?

Obligations do not “attach” to your play area. They simply enter play in your play area. Only the player with the obligation in their play area can trigger the Alter-ego Action or Hero Action on that card. These rules are included in the Rise of Red Skull box, and they will be added to the online rules reference.

-Caleb

I have a quick question about Unflappable. I know that damage from boosts “is not considered damage from an attack.” However, Unflappable’s card says “after you defend against an attack and take no damage, exhaust unflappable to draw one card.”

What if you take boost damage from a card like concussive blast? Does that not count toward Unflappable’s requirement? Is Unflappable solely “after you defend and take no damage [from the attack/while defending]?”

The wording “after you defend against an attack and take no damage” means that you only check after the attack resolves, and you’re only checking to see if you take damage at that time. The effect does not check if you took damage during the attack.

-Caleb

She-Hulk ally reads +1 ATK for each damage token. Is she getting +1 for each physical token or for each damage she has taken. If she has Honorary Avenger and has sustained 4 damage represented by a 3 damage token and a 1 damage token, does she get +2 or +4 ATK?

The 3-damage token represents three 1-damage tokens. She-Hulk will get +4 ATK whether she has four 1-damage tokens or a 3-damage token and a 1-damage token.

-Caleb

This is actually a question I think you would find interesting! So someone over in Spain sent me the Spanish version of Sentry: the new 4-cost Aggression ally in the Hulk pack. Now, the US/English card just says to deal yourself an encounter card. That verbiage is obvious, as you don’t resolve it right away and wait until the villain phase.

However, the Spanish version of the card says “aplicate sus efectos,” which roughly translates to “apply its effects.” In other words, the same verbiage used for “resolve it immediately.” Which version of the card is correct?

You are meant to deal yourself a facedown encounter card that you will resolve during the villain phase.

-Caleb

Firstly, I’m not sure if Spycraft triggers off revealing any encounter card but doesn’t specify from the encounter deck.

Secondly, can you use Spycraft to cancel a side scheme from his side-scheme deck in the upcoming Red Skull scenario? You might not be able to answer as it’s upcoming product but that was the other case we have of an encounter card coming from not the encounter deck.

If you chose to use Spycraft to prevent your nemesis minion from entering play, you still resolve the rest of The Shadow of the Past. That means you will still put your nemesis side scheme into play, and then Shadow of the Past will gain surge because your nemesis minion did not enter play. So you would end up with a side scheme and +2 extra encounter cards (+1 for Spycraft and +1 for Shadow of the Past).

Secondly, no, cards revealed from the side scheme deck are not revealed from the encounter deck.

-Caleb

In the Rise of Red Skull box, Hawkeye’s prebuilt deck has a copy of Avengers Tower that does NOT have the Avengers trait on it. The previous version of Avengers Tower does have the trait. Which version is correct/was this card errataed? Thanks!

There was no errata. It is an unfortunate typo. Both versions should have the Avenger trait.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Ms. Marvel

If Ms. Marvel defends against an attack, can she: A) discard an in-play Indomitable to ready, then play Counter Punch, and exhaust herself to use Morphogenetics to bring that Counter Punch back to her hand? And, if so: B) then replay the Counter Punch that was returned back to her hand?

That all seems legit. Cool combo.

-Caleb

Does Ms. Marvel’s Embiggen work for both instances of damage for Melee?

Embiggen will add two to each instance of damage dealt by an attack, so Melee will deal five damage to one enemy and five to another

-Caleb

Can Melee deal damage to the same enemy twice?

No. When Melee deals damage a second time, that damage must be dealt to an enemy that is different from the first.

Official FAQ (1.2)

If you use the Hero Action to blank Edison’s Robot, does it work for all players?

If you trigger the Hero Action on Edison’s Giant Robot, its text is considered blank for all players.

-Caleb

Can you play two instances of Wiggle Room with Ms. Marvel’s hero ability?

Yes, you can retrieve the Wiggle Room with Morphogenics and play it again in response to the same instance. It’s the same as if you had 2 copies of Wiggle Room in your hand: You fully resolve one before playing the other.

-Caleb

I am playing Leadership. I use Red Dagger from Ms. Marvel’s discard pile with Make the Call. Then I use his last bit of HP to attack, which defeats him. Who triggers or can trigger/pay for the ability on Red Dagger ? And who controls him?

Only an ally’s controller can trigger the ability of that ally. If you brought Red Dagger into play with Make the Call, then you are his controller.

-Caleb

If I am playing Ms Marvel, and have both Red Dagger and Rapid Response in play, and Red Dagger is defeated, can I pay two resources and deal 2 damage to an enemy, using Red Dagger’s interrupt, then trigger Rapid Response to put Red Dagger back into play with 1 damage? And, if so, does the rest of Red Dagger’s interrupt fizzle?

[Second], what if I chose to resolve Rapid Response, returning Red Dagger to play and dealing 1 damage to him, could Red Dagger’s interrupt still be used, or is the trigger condition no longer valid?

If you trigger Red Dagger’s Response then he is no longer a valid target for Rapid Response because he is now in your hand and not your discard pile.

[Second], if you chose to do that, then you would have missed the opportunity to trigger Red Dagger’s Response because you chose to let him be destroyed.

-Caleb

I have a couple more follow-up questions, regarding Red Dagger.

Firstly, in both your previous replies you said “Red Dagger’s Response”, so, is Red Dagger going to get errata’d (because on the card his ability is an Interrupt)?

[Second], if Red Dagger’s ability is used, is he still considered to have been defeated?

For example, if I am facing the Wrecking Crew and draw “You’re Dead Meat!” and it defeats Red Dagger, will the 3 threat still be placed on Wrecker’s Side Scheme, if I use Red Dagger’s ability?

[Finally], at what point does Red Dagger’s Interrupt trigger? Is it when he hits the discard, or when damage is applied? In other words, at what point is he considered “defeated”?

There is no errata for Red Dagger. I just didn’t have the card right in front of me, so I mistakenly called it a Response. It is indeed an Interrupt ability.

[Second[, the Interrupt is triggered when Red Dagger is defeated, so he is still defeated even if you return him to your hand. If the ability used the word “instead” that would be different as that would create a replacement effect.

[Finally], an ally is defeated when it has damage equal to its hit points. Defeated allies are placed in the discard pile. Red Dagger’s ability triggers immediately when he is defeated, so he never enters the discard pile

-Caleb

Can Ms. Marvel’s bio-kinetic polymer suit be used to pay the cost of Make the Call? I only ask as the part before the arrow where you pay the printed cost of an ally is part of the cost of the make the call event and the suit doesn’t specify what parts of the event the resource can be generated for.

No, the suit only provides a resource to pay for an event. Make the Call instructs you to pay the cost of the ally. The event itself is cost 0.

-Caleb

Does Ms. Marvel’s Shrink interact with Emergency?

No, Shrink only boosts effects that remove threat. Reducing or preventing threat placement is not the same as removing threat.

-Caleb

How does Ms. Marvel’s Shrink interact with You’ll Pay for That? Can it be increased past the maximum value of 5 threat?

Shrink modifies the amount of threat “that event removes” so the maximum of 5 applies.

-Caleb

Are you able to use Morphogenetics on a card that defeated a minion and then ready Ms. Marvel with Battle Fury?

Yes, you can play an Attack event to defeat a minion, exhaust Ms. Marvel to recur that event, and then discard Battle Fury to ready Ms. Marvel.

-Caleb

I have a question about Ms. Marvel, that mostly deals with future cards. Her ability states that “after you play an attack, thwart or defense event” you can exhaust her to take it back into your hand.

Are those specifically the bolded TRAITS “attack, thwart and defense right below the art on the card?” Or is it (attack), (thwart), (defense) as written in card text? Or both?

For the most part this doesn’t matter now as all of Ms. Marvel’s events and all current basic/aspect events have both, but I figured I would ask since this game is going to be around for a while.

Ms. Marvel’s ability references the traits: Attack, Thwart, and Defense. If for some reason there was a card with (defense) without the Defense trait, her ability would not interact with that card.

-Caleb

How does Thomas Edison work? Does it prevent someone from damaging them if they have a minion engaged with them? Or just Thomas Edison?

[Players] cant deal damage to [Thomas Edison] while the engaged player has a minion also engaged with them

-Boggs (FFG Ms. Marvel livestream)

Back to top.


Captain America

Steve Rogers‘ ability says that the first ally played this round costs one less. If I start the turn as Captain America, then another player goes before me and plays an ally; if I swap to Steve Rogers do I get to use that reduced cost ability?

The first ally played is the first ally played regardless of whether Steve Rogers is in play or not. If you are Captain America when the first ally is played, then nobody gets a discount that round.

-Caleb

It looks like the card Melee can damage and kill a Guarded minion, then damage the villain with the same card action. What about Shield Toss? Can you use it to hit Guarded minions and the villain at the same time? How does the interaction work? Is the villain a valid target that you can spend [x] cards on?

You cannot target the villain with Shield Toss if you are engaged with a Guard minion because the damage is dealt simultaneously. Melee works different because it is split into two effects that each deal 3 damage.

You resolve the first instance before resolving the second. If you defeat the only Guard minion engaged with you with the first part of Melee, then you can target the villain with the second part.

-Caleb

If Captain America’s Shield is put into play as a Drone minion during game setup for Ultron, can I retrieve it with Steve Rogers’s Setup ability?

No. The Setup ability specifically searched the player’s deck and discard pile. If Captain America’s Shield is not in either game area, the ability fails to find it.

Official FAQ (1.2)

Back to top.


Green Goblin

Does a stun status prevent Norman Osborn from using his forced interrupt?

Yes, a stun status card will prevent Norman Osborn’s activation. This is due to the rule under “Status Cards” on page 16 of version 1.1 of the Rules Reference (That rule states: “Status card abilities have timing priority over all conflicting card abilities.”

So, the game will tell Norman Osborn to attack (either because of a game step, such as step 2 of the villain phase, or because of a card ability, such as the Assault treachery). Because status cards take priority over all other abilities, the game will check if Norman is stunned.

If he is, the stun status card prevents the activation; if he is not, Norman’s “Forced Interrupt” ability kicks in.

-Boggs

Are there any special rules for the modular sets in the Green Goblin villain pack?

The modular encounter sets in the Green Goblin are intended to be used the same way as the modular encounter sets in the core set. The graphic design does not change their function.

-Caleb

How does indirect damage work for an effect like Green Goblin I-II’s “when revealed” in Risky Business?

Indirect damage may be split among characters you control however you like, with the exception that you cannot over-assign damage (i.e. place 3 damage on a character with only 1 hit point remaining). [Also see above: Luke Cage]

-Boggs

Do players handle Green Goblin III‘s indirect damage differently given the wording?

Yes, unlike Green Goblin I and Green Goblin II, Green Goblin III simply deals damage to the player (or, more specifically, the player’s identity). As this damage is not indirect, it cannot be assigned to allies.

-Boggs

If I have Media Coverage attached to me, and a new villain stage is revealed, do the “When Revealed” effects trigger a second time?

No. A villain stage is not revealed by a specific player, so Media Coverage does not apply. It only applies to encounter cards that you specifically reveal.

-Caleb

The card Wicked Ambitions says to discard [x] cards from the encounter deck.

Say the stage is Stage III, so X is 3. What if there are 2 cards in the deck? Would you discard 2 and then would the third card whiff? Or would you discard 2, immediately reshuffle the encounter deck, and then discard another?

If Wicked Ambitions causes the encounter deck to empty, the rules for an empty encounter deck are followed.

-Boggs

While Green Goblin is attacking, if the last madness counter is removed from the State of Madness environment through a “Boost” ability, what happens?

Green Goblin immediate flips to Norman Osborn form. Boost icons from the boost card are then added to Norman Osborn’s ATK value of *, which is treated as a value of 0. Norman Osborn then deals damage from the attack equal to his modified ATK value (base of 0 ATK, plus the number of boost icons on the boost card).

In this specific situation, Norman Osborn’s “Forced Interrupt” does not trigger, as the attack is already past the point of “When Norman Osborn would attack…” by the time he changes to his Norman Osborn form.

Official FAQ (1.2)

If I’m in alter-ego form and I reveal “I See You”, does Green Goblin attack me?

Yes. Because the “When Revealed” ability on I See You does not specify hero form or alter-ego form, Green Goblin will attack the player no matter their form.

Official FAQ (1.2)

My second question is for an ability that appears on the Mutagen Formula main scheme, Goblin Reinforcements side scheme, and Wicked Ambitions encounter card. All of them refer to discarding a set number of cards, and performing an action when a certain type of card is revealed (they do not say to stop discarding when that card type is found).

Is this considered “looking for a specified card” such that the discarding stops? If so, what happens in a multiplayer scenario if you reach the end of the deck for the first player. Does it resume after reshuffling for the second, or does all discarding cease?

No you are not looking for a specified card in these instances. You are being instructed to discard a certain number of cards. After that there is an effect that triggers depending on what you discarded.

Back to top.


Wrecking Crew

I drew the Buddy System treachery as a boost. Does that boost immediately make a new villain the current attacker/schemer?

By the time you reveal Buddy System as a boost, the current active villain is mid-activation. That villain will still resolve its activation after the active counter is moved to a different villain.

If other players still have to resolve the villain’s activation against them, the new active villain will be the one to activate against them.

-Caleb

We drew the card “I’ve Been Waiting for This!” (Piledriver 11/18). The card says “gains three hit points” when revealed. But Wrecker’s I’ve Been Waiting for This (14/18) says the villain “heals 3 hit points”. Which is correct?

Unfortunately, Piledriver’s copy of “I’ve Been Waiting for This!” has a typo. It should say “heals” instead of “gains” in order to be the same as the other two copies of the treachery in the scenario.

I apologize for the confusion.

– Caleb

If we beat a villain on their “A” side, the rules say that villain is “defeated,” then B side comes out. What would happen to their side scheme? Would it stay the exact same? Or would it also be defeated then come back into play with the default (let’s say, Piledriver’s 3 threat) threat value?

Great question. The villain’s side-scheme stays in play when you defeat their A side.

-Caleb

In the Wrecking Crew scenario, let’s say I draw a minion which has the “Guard” keyword. Does that Minion prevent me from attacking all of the villains, or only the active villain?

The guard keyword prevents you from attacking all the villains.

-Caleb

How does Followed interact with Wrecking Crew? The rules insert says that a side scheme is “removed from play” when a villain is defeated. Would this prevent Followed from triggering?

If a side scheme cannot leave play, then it cannot be defeated. So “Followed” does not work in this scenario.

-Caleb

The boost from Escaped Convict says “move the active counter to the villain whose side scheme has the least threat. If you are in hero form, that villain attacks you after this attack. This attack does not get a boost card.”

What if the boosted villain is already at the lowest threat? Do you have to move the counter still in accordance with the move section of the rules reference guide?

It is possible that the active counter will not move, but the attack will still occur if you are in hero form because it is not dependent on the move.

-Caleb

Can you use a card like Energy Daggers to attack every Wrecking Crew villain?

No. “Any card effect that refers to ‘the villain’ only refers to the active villain.”

Wrecking Crew Rules Insert

With Chaos in the prison if you only control one upgrade and you choose to discard it, the card still gains surge because it’s checked after the choice (then resolving one sentence at a time)?

That is correct. If you discard your last upgrade, the treachery will gain surge.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Thor

How does Loki interact with overkill? If you do six overkill damage, would you “kill Loki” then assign the two to the villain, then activate Loki’s card ability to see if he revives?

The overkill damage would be applied to the villain before determining whether or not Loki revives.

-Caleb

Previously it was ruled that if you use overkill on Loki, the excess damage would go to the villain then you’d check to see if he came back to life. What about Stealth Strike? If the damage from the card “kills” Loki, does Stealth Strike also remove 2 threat from a scheme, then checks to see if Loki is dead after?

The interaction of Stealth Strike and Loki is different from the previous example you mentioned. Overkill does not require the minion to actually be defeated, it just tells you to place excess damage on the villain.

Stealth Strike requires that the target enemy be defeated in order to remove 2 threat. If Loki heals himself instead of being defeated, then he was not defeated and you cannot remove 2 threat.

-Caleb

Loki‘s response is an interrupt. Doesn’t that make it optional?

Loki’s Interrupt should be a “Forced Interrupt.” Future reprints will have that errata. Good catch.

-Caleb

Can I trigger Jarnbjorn after I play an Attack event?

Yes. A hero is considered to make an attack both through their basic attack power and actions with the (attack) label.

Official FAQ (1.2)

What happens if I use Defender of the Nine Realms and discard to the end of the encounter deck without revealing a minion?

If you discard through the entire encounter deck and find no minion with Defender of the Nine Realms, then the rest of the effect fizzles and the event is discarded. You must shuffle the encounter deck discard pile back into the encounter deck and place an acceleration token on the main scheme.

-Caleb

I would like to confirm, using Defender of the Nine Realms while having the confused status, I would still get a minion, correct?

Yes, you would still get a minion. And the result would be discarding your confused status card.

-Caleb

Is Thor’s Lightning Strike an attack? The card does not have the (attack) label but it does mention the phrase “attack.”

Lightning Strike is not an attack. We are going to change the text “This attack ignores…” to “This damage ignores…” in future reprints to clear up the confusion.

-Caleb

If Thor plays Defender of the Nine Realms, and Baron Zemo is in the encounter deck thanks to Cap’s Shadows, what happens if Zemo engages with Thor as the cost for his Thwart event? Do you still remove threat, as you started the Thwart pre-Zemo?

You have already played your thwart card at the point which Zemo comes into play, so Zemo’s ability is moot at that point. He does, however, prevent you from taking any more thwart actions once he is engaged with you.

-Caleb

This question deals with Jane Foster Thor, the Aggression ally. Would Thor’s hero card Mjolnir be attached to her? Specifically, are the rules still that it needs to say “attach to a character or ally” to actually attach to an ally? The RRG upgrade section leaves it ambiguous. It says “most upgrade cards enter play near a player’s identity card, and modify the player’s hero or alter-ego (or both).” There is wiggle room here with “most,” can you clarify? Also separately, will Jane Foster get the +1 ATK from Mjolnir if it’s on Thor? It seems as if she would, as she is also “Thor.”

The cards in Thor’s hero kit that refer to “Thor” only refer to him.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Black Widow

I have a question about the Dance of Death card for Black Widow, since it lacks the (attack) label. Is this card considered a regular “attack” for retaliate purposes (and so on), or is it a non-attack ability?

The card has the Attack trait and the ability says “Make the following 3 attacks in order” so it is clearly an attack.

-Caleb

As a follow-up, is Black Widow’s Dance of Death three separate attacks? Meaning, would the first one remove stun, allowing the next two to go through?

Dance of Death is 3 separate attacks generated by 1 card. If you are stunned, it will only cancel the first of three attacks. The other two will still resolve.

-Caleb

My question is in regards to Attacrobatics. The card’s cost reads that you need to turn a boost card faceup and discard Attacrobatics. Does that mean you can trigger this preparation even if it does 0 damage, for the purposes of triggering a preparation for Black Widow’s ability?

Also, what would happen if you used Attacrobatics while Piledriver was using Distracting Taunt. That card reads that players cannot attack other villains. Attacrobatics is an attack. However, could you still use the ability because the cost has been paid, and cancel the boost icons without dealing any damage to another active villain?

If a card has no boost icons, then you cannot cancel them. Therefore, you cannot trigger Atttacrobatics unless the card has at least one boost icon. I should also point out that the star icon is not a boost icon.

You cannot use Attacrobatics against another villain while Piledriver has Distracting Taunt attached. The entire effect is labeled an attack.

-Caleb

What happens if you use Black Widow’s Attacrobatics and the Protection card Preemptive Strike at the same time for one boost card? Do both work, or since the first card played cancels the boosts, does the second card whiff since the boost icons are already canceled? Checking on the timing of the interrupts.

You can only resolve one of these cards per boost card. Attacrobatics says to deal damage for each boost icon “canceled this way,” so if you cancel them with Preemptive Strike the rest of Attacrobatics would do nothing. It’s the same the other way around, Preemptive Strike says “Then, deal 1 damage…”

The use of the word then means you must have fully resolved the first part of the card in order to resolve the rest. If Attacrobatics canceled the boost icons, then you did not fully resolve the first part of Preemptive Strike.

-Caleb

Can I trigger Black Widow’s Widowmaker hero ability after using Attacrobatics while stunned?

Yes, you can trigger her Widowmaker ability because you triggered the ability of Attacrobatics.

-Caleb

Can you trigger Attackrobatics against Ultron III while a drone minion is in play, in order to deal 1 damage to the drone using Widowmaker? If so, and that’s the last damage on the last drone, could Attackrobatics then deal damage to Ultron, or does Widowmaker trigger after Attackrobatics fully resolves?

Black Widow’s ‘widowmaker’ ability is a Response, so it does not resolve until after you resolve the Preparation card. If it was intended to resolve immediately before the Preparation card, then it would have to be an Interrupt ability.

-Caleb

Under the current rulings, Attacrobatics flops if Black Widow is engaged with a guard minion. I am curious why guard prevents the card from canceling the boost icons and just failing to do the attack/damage to the villain due to guard. Other cards with the same formatting require each sentence to be read in order and you resolve each sentence one by one until it is not possible. In this case, you would discard attackrobatics when a boost is revealed.

Then you would proceed to do as much as possible for the second portion which in this case would be to cancel the boost icons. After the newest ruling on melee regarding sentence by sentence reading this would imply that every card is to be treated in the same way. Melee used to flop if there was a guard minion since both instances of damage occurred at the same time, but the most recent revision change the interaction to deal 3 damage. Then deal 3 more damage to a different enemy which allows you to kill a guard and hit the villain with the second instance.

The reason you can’t trigger Attacrobatics while engaged with a guard minion is because it is an (attack) card. You cannot attack the villain while engaged with a guard minion.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Doctor Strange

In Doctor Strange’s nemesis set, the card Counterspell says to “attach to your hero,” not “attach to your identity.” If you draw this in alter-ego does it whiff?

Counterspell works as written. If you should happen to shuffle Dr. Strange’s nemesis set into the encounter deck and draw Counterspell while in alter-ego form, you will have a free reveal that turn.

-Caleb

I have a question regarding Doctor Strange and Master of the Mystic Arts. So based on the stream, you all mentioned that the invocation deck would always have its top card faceup. If you played Master of the Mystic Arts, is there a window in which that card would be off of the invocation deck, and you could see the NEXT card in the deck faceup?

Given that Master of the Mystic Arts is briefly placed in the discard pile after it’s resolved, then is “placed back on top of the invocation deck,” there seems to be a quick window where you could see the next card after Master of the Mystic Arts is played?

No, you must fully resolve the Invocation that you are playing before revealing the next card of the Invocation deck.

There is no window in-between where you would see the next card or reshuffle the deck.

-Caleb

For Doctor Strange’s Vapors of Valtorr Invocation card, do you need to have a status card in play to use it? There doesn’t seem to be a cost associated with an arrow and the last sentence says to place the card in the invocation deck discard pile.

If you cannot choose a status card in play, then you cannot play the card.

-Caleb

For Doctor Strange’s signature card “Magic Blast” if you discard an energy resource, is the two damage a separate instance from the original five damage? For example, if you attack Norman Osborne, and Criminal Enterprises has 5 tokens on it, will Magic Blast remove the five tokens from Criminal Enterprises, flip Norman to Green Goblin, and then deal 2 damage to Green Goblin?

Yes, it is a separate instance of damage. You are correct.

-Caleb

I have a quick question about Depowered, the new Kang obligation (you cannot play hero-specific cards). Can Doctor Strange circumvent this with his Invocation deck? Also he isn’t “playing” them, right? He’s “resolving the top card of the Invocation deck” So it wouldn’t impact him anyway?

That is correct.

-Caleb

Hulk [ally] says you need to discard a card from your deck. Can that be the Invocation Deck?

No, “your deck” is always your player card deck.

-Caleb

Suppose a Villain is Tough, Stunned, and Confused, can you use Vapors of Valtorr on him to remove the Tough status? (in other words, can you change tough to stunned while he is already stunned, for the extra stun to simply get discarded, or are you prevented from changing it since the stun cannot be added?)

No, you cannot stun or confuse an enemy that is already stunned or confused.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Ronan (Kree Fanatic Modular Set)

I have a question about Ronan himself, the minion card. It says “when the villain phase begins, Ronan engages the hero with the fewest remaining hitpoints.” If he was already engaged with Thor, and Thor was the lowest hitpoints, would be “re-engage” Thor and allow Thor to draw two cards?

Unfortunately, an enemy engaged with you cannot engage you again without engaging someone else first. So Thor will not draw cards if an enemy already engaged with him is instructed to engage him.

-Caleb

Ronan says “cannot be stunned.” Can Doctor Strange swap his tough status to stunned with Vapors? Does that count as “stunning” Ronan, or is Vapors swapping the status a different interaction?

“Cannot be stunned” means he simply cannot have a stunned status card on him at all, so you could not stun him with Vapors of Valtorr.

-Caleb

Based on a prior Wrecking Crew ruling, a Wrecking Crew member would be able to not move if they are the lowest/highest threat active villain, but can still perform the action on the card. Is this the same case for Ronan’s ability? What if there are two players and both have the “fewest remaining hitpoints?” Would he stay engaged with the player he’s currently engaged with? Can you pick a player for him to engage in that case if they are all equal?

In the case that there are two or more players with the fewest remaining hit points, the first player decides how to resolve the effect.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Hulk

Clash of the Titans makes an attack against the highest attack character if this is an ally to whom would the damage be assigned if the attack is undefended?

Under step 4 of the enemy attacks in the RRG version we currently have it states: If no character defends the attack, the attack is considered undefended. All damage from the attack is dealt to the identity that is resolving this attack. But I assume it’s supposed to be the attacked character.

If your highest ATK character is an ally, then the attack generated by Clash of the Titans will target that ally. If no defender is declared, then the target ally takes all the damage from the attack.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Rise of Red Skull

What happens if you draw Shadows of the Past as Black Widow while fighting the Taskmaster villain in the Rise of Red Skull box?

Your nemesis minion cannot enter the game in this instance, so it will remain set-aside and does not enter the game. However, you still reveal your nemesis’ side scheme and shuffle the rest of the nemesis set into the encounter deck. This will cause Shadow of the Past to gain surge as dictated by the card.

-Rise of Red Skull rulebook

When I put an environment card into play at the beginning of the Absorbing Man scenario, do I trigger the surge keyword?

No. The surge keyword only triggers when the card it appears on is revealed. Putting a card into play is not the same as revealing a card

-Rise of Red Skull rulebook

What does it mean when a card is removed from the campaign log?

When a card is removed from the campaign log, cross it out of the campaign log. That card is no longer part of the campaign and cannot be included in any deck for the remainder of the campaign.

-Rise of Red Skull rulebook

If my ally is removed from the campaign at the end of Zola’s scenario, what do I do?

If your ally was removed from the campaign, that ally is removed from your deck for the rest of the campaign. If this causes your deck to fall below the minimum number of cards, you must add a card to your deck

-Rise of Red Skull rulebook

Are there any plans to do anything about the Spider-Woman hero versus the Spider-Woman signature ally in the Captain Marvel set? You can’t remove a signature ally.

There is no plan to replace Captain Marvel’s signature ally, it just becomes a resource if you’re also playing with the Spider-Woman hero on the table.

-Caleb

It says in the campaign booklet to include Hydra Assault with Crossbones. But the Crossbones main scheme card says to include Hydra Patrol. Which one is it?

It should be Hydra Assault.

-Caleb

My question is about “Hail Hydra”, we have (as of today) 3 different versions of the card (Captain America Nemesis, Spider Woman Nemesis and Hydra Assault). In the one in the Captain America Nemesis set you only shuffle the encounter deck if you searched in it but in the others you always shuffle it (no matter is you searched in it or not). Which one is correct?

They each work exactly as they are written. Just resolve the version that you draw the way that it reads.

-Caleb

During the red skull campaign you are given stat increasing upgrade that also have a variable amount of max HP. On Expert, during setup you find these cards and then afterwards you set your hp to your last noted HP. However as the rules say to always note down your base hp if the current hp is higher then it. Does this mean you always start at a lower then max hp for the remaining campaign unless you take one of the obligations.

When you end a game with a hit point value that is greater than your starting hit points, you are instructed to record your starting hit point value in the campaign log. Then, you are supposed to set your hit points to the value you recorded in the log at the start of your next game. That is all correct. 

Where I got it wrong [with a prior ruling] was saying that means you would start with fewer hit points than your maximum if you also have a campaign upgrade boosting your hit point value. That’s not right. What I forgot is that the campaign upgrade will trigger its ability at the start of each game by granting your identity the extra 1-4 hit points the moment it hits the table. That means if you started the game at your identity’s maximum hit point value, you will increase your hit point dial by 1-4 above that depending on which upgrade you start with.

-Caleb

My playgroup has a question about canceling incite. In Lord of the Rings LCG, if you “canceled a treachery,” you wouldn’t cancel the doom effect. But if you used a card like The One Ring to cancel it (the whole card, akin to Spycraft), you would. How does this work for incite in Marvel? Spycraft seems to cancel the entire card, including incite and surge. Is that correct? What about Grappling Hook? What does “cancel the effects of this treachery” mean? Does that cancel the whole card, including incite? Enhanced Spider-Sense is more clear, as it just says the “when revealed” effects, which incite or surge would not be.

Canceling the effects of a treachery card, means canceling all of the effects on that card, including keywords. So if you cancel the effects of a card with Incite, you also cancel the Incite keyword.

-Caleb

An interesting question came up during our Red Skull scenario run. The Rise of Red Skull main scheme does not specify “who” is actually revealing the side scheme deck. But for the card Legions of Hydra (the modular set side scheme, which is put into the side scheme deck), it asks for someone to search for Madame Hydra and put it into play engaged with “you.” Who is “you” in regards to the side scheme deck? We assumed that the first player is actually revealing the side scheme deck.

Defaulting to the first player was going to be my answer as well 🙂

-Caleb

For Ultimate Bio-Servant, the minion in Zola’s scenario: Does it gain +1 ATK for player upgrades as well? Such as Spider-Tracer? The card says “for each attachment on it,” but I wasn’t sure if it was the intent for it to be “friendly attachments” (to the minion).

Upgrades are not attachments. They are two different card types, so Ultimate Bio-Servant gets no bonus from upgrades attached to it.

-Caleb

What happens to test counters in the Zola scenario when you move to a new stage?

Any test counters on main scheme 1b will be removed from play when you advance to stage 2. Generally speaking, when a card leaves play, you discard all other cards and counters on that card. The Acceleration Token is the exception to this rule.

-Caleb

Can ally Hulk initiate a thwart against Red House (Rise of Red Skull) since it would use his attack stat instead of his thwart?

No. Hulk cannot ever make a basic thwart because he has a dash (-) for THW. Even though the Red House substitutes ATK for THW, you still need to be able to initiate a thwart and Hulk cannot do that.

-Caleb

If Black Cat thwarts the Red House (Rise of Red Skull), she ends up using her ATK stat. Does she take consequential damage from her thwart stat, or none from her attack stat?

Black Cat is using her ATK instead of her THW, so she won’t take consequential damage because her ATK has none.

-Caleb

Here’s a quick question about the Red Skull box. Is Experimental Weapons considered a modular set? Can it be used officially in other encounters? Or is it strictly meant for campaign play in the Red Skull box?

The Experimental Weapons set is a modular set. It’s role in the Rise of Red Skull is unique, but you can use it like any other modular set.

-Caleb

Are player deck obligations (like those added in Rise of Red Skull) triggered during setup when drawing your hand, or can they be mulliganed?

If you draw an obligation during setup, you must put that card into play immediately. This does not prevent you from taking a mulligan, so will still start the game with your starting hand size.

If you drew an obligation as part of your mulligan, then you would start with fewer cards. So that is possible, but only on the mulligan draw.

-Caleb

Related to Rise of the Red Skull Zola Villain: Is it intended that minions put into play via Lab counters will not activate “When Revealed” effects?

That is correct. If you put it into play, it will not resolve its ‘when revealed’ abilities.

Back to top.


Hawkeye

For Hawkeye’s quiver, are you supposed to shuffle the top five cards into your deck?

No, this language will become more common. You look at the top five cards, pick the one you need then put them back in the same order.

So…in the past, I made a mistake. I said before that no, you do not shuffle. But Caleb and I have talked very recently. And we decided that anytime you search, you always shuffle. We will update the rules reference eventually…to make it that you always shuffle.

– Boggs

How does Hawkeye’s Nemesis side scheme, Marked for Death, work?

It should say “when the scheme is defeated.”

If Mockingbird is in play, you have to put that copy under the side scheme because the unique rule prevents another copy from entering play. While Mockingbird is faceup under the side scheme she is in play, but under no player’s control.

So to answer your question: you would place the core set Mockingbird that you have in play under Marked for Death, but that would still prevent you from playing the new Mockingbird until you defeat the side scheme.

-Caleb

I have a question about Crossfire, Hawkeye’s Nemesis. If you note the icon on the Taskmaster nemesis (Black Widow), it shows a star icon near “Taskmaster gets +1SCH and 1+ATK for each upgrade you control.” But Crossfire doesn’t have the same star icon next to “Crossfire’s attacks gain piercing.” The intent seems clear, but should he have a star icon next to his second line of text?

You understand correctly. Looks like there was an unfortunate oversight. There should be a reminder start in front of Crossfire’s ability to gain piercing.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Spider-Woman

I’m going to assume that Spider-Woman’s alter-ego ability forces you to choose two aspects when deckbuilding? It doesn’t say forced, but the wording implies that you have to use two aspects. And to clear up all the edge cases, you can’t go “no aspect” basic-only and hero cards with her either?

When you play Spider-Woman, you must choose 2 aspects. The number of cards you include from each aspect is up to you, but they must be equal.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Kang

How do I resolve encounter card effects that refer to “each player.” while I am in my own game area?

“Each player” refers to each player in the same game area. If you are the only person in your game area, then “each player” refers only to you.

-Caleb

Can two players control the same unique cards while they are in different game areas?

Yes. Cards in one game area cannot affect other game areas, so a unique card in one game area places no limitations on the others. When players combine game areas, they must discard copies of unique cards until only one of each remains in that game area. If the players cannot agree which one to discard, the first player decides.

-Caleb

What happens to status cards and attachments on Kang when he is defeated?

Normally when a villain is defeated, attachments and status cards on that villain are transferred to the next villain in the villain deck in Once and Future Kang, so attachments and status cards are not transferred from Kang (I) to Kang (II) or from Kang (II) to Kang (III).

-Caleb

If you use the Master of Time encounter set to play the Kang scenario, can the Kang (Master of Time) minion enter play while Kang is the villain?

Yes. The Kang minion has a different subtitle (Master of Time) from each Kang villain, and is therefore a different character. There are many versions of Kang from different timelines and they sometimes join forces. Beware!

-Caleb

When playing Kang in a four player game, what happens if a player in their own game area (when you split to face different forms of Kang) if they draw Ronan? Would Ronan only have one player’s worth of health, or four?

The “per player” icon section in the RRG makes it seem like you would use the starting player’s stat. This differs a bit from the ruling you all clarified on stream, which states to refer to “each player” as just yourself, since “per player” is a different game mechanic.

The rules for the Per Player icon say: “The (per player) icon next to a value multiplies that value by the number of players who started the scenario.” That is different from an effect that targets “each player” in the game.

When you are considered to be the only player in the game, “each player” only refers to you. But the per player icon still references the number of players who started the game.

-Caleb

Back to top.


Ant-Man

With Taskmaster, his card says that his villain forced response “after a player changes to hero form.” How does this impact Wasp and Ant-Man? If they change from one hero form (tiny) to another (big), does Taskmaster’s villain forced response trigger every time?

Yes, if Ant-Man or Wasp changes from hero form to hero form, Taskmaster will deal damage to them.

-Caleb


Quicksilver

I have a question about Quicksilver, who was revealed today. If he is Confused and I exhaust him to Thwart, can I then trigger his Response to ready?

No, you only ready Quicksilver after you use one of is basic powers. When you are stunned or confused, you remove the status card instead of resolving the attack or thwart. The replacement effect means that you never actually used your THW or ATK.

-Caleb

Back to top.


FFG Errata (Errata Pack)

Loki (Thor 28) Should read:
“Forced Interrupt: When Loki would be defeated, discard the top card of the encounter deck. If that card is a treachery, heal all damage from Loki instead.” (Changed “Interrupt” to “Forced Interrupt”.)

Official FAQ (Developer 1.2 Errata)

Followed (Captain America 32) Should read:
“Interrupt: When attached scheme is defeated, deal 4 damage to an enemy.” (Changed “Response” to “Interrupt”.)

Official FAQ (Developer 1.3 Errata)

Lightning Strike (Thor 9-10) Should read:
“This damage ignores tough status cards if you have the aerial trait.” (Changed “Attack” to Damage.”)

Official FAQ (Developer 1.3 Errata)

Community Errata

I’ve Been Waiting For This (Piledriver 11) Should read:
“When Revealed: The active villain heals 3 hit points. Give that villain a tough status card.” (Changed “Gains” to “Heals.”)

-See above, Wrecking Crew (Based on Ruling)

Thor’s Starter Deck card Should read:
“Frost Giant x2, Trickster.” (Changed “Trickster x2” to “Trickster,” changed Frost Giant to “Frost Giant x2.”)

-See Thor (Based on Pack Error)

Dance of Death (Black Widow 4-5) has been clarified:
“All three listed attacks contain the (attack) notation.”

-See above, Black Widow (Based on Ruling)

Iron Fist (Doctor Strange 14) Should read:
“Interrupt: When Iron Fist attacks an enemy, remove 1 mystic counter from him -> stun that enemy and deal 1 damage to it.” (Changed “Response” to “Interrupt”.)

-See above, Expansion Cards (Based on Ruling)

Marked for Death (Hawkeye Nemesis 2) Should read:
“When this scheme is defeated, return Mockingbird to her owner’s hand.” (Changed “stage” to “scheme.”)

-See above, Hawkeye (Based on Ruling)

Attack on Mount Athena (Crossbones 4) Should read:
“Hydra Assault.” (Changed “Hydra Patrol” to “Hydra Assault.”)

-See above, The Rise of Red Skull (Based on Ruling)

Back to top.