Latest FFG Rulings

On this page you’ll find some of the latest FFG rulings for Marvel Champions. When it gets unwieldly, some older questions will be deleted. All questions and responses can be found on this main page.


Navigation

May, 2022

June, 2022

Latest rulings


May, 2022

Ultron Stage II says “Forced Interrupt: When Ultron attacks you, put the top card of your deck into play facedown, engaged with you as a DRONE minion. Until the end of this attack, Ultron gets +1 ATK for each DRONE minion engaged with you.” Is the modification to Ultron’s ATK created by the second sentence of this interrupt “locked in” at the time the interrupt triggers?

Or is it “smart” enough to check throughout the attack and change if the number of DRONES engaged with you changes? Similarly, if the answer to above is the “smart” option, is the player referred to by the “you” at the end of that sentence (“…for each DRONE minion engaged with you”) “locked in” at the time the interrupt triggers? That is, will it remain referring to the player who was the original target of the attack, throughout the attack?

Most specifically: if a player who is not the original target defends one of Ultron’s attacks, will the “you” begin referring to the new target of the attack and recalculate Ultron’s ATK accordingly?

To answer your question(s):

For Ultron II, your second interpretation seems to line up with the intent of the card. Ultron II would deal you a drone minion when he activates & initiates an attack against you, and until the attack is complete, he would get +1 ATK for each drone attached to you. If you had no drones attached to you and were in hero form when Ultron II activated against you, he would initiate an attack against you, deal you a drone, and have +1 ATK until the attack finished resolving.

If, after Ultron II dealt you a drone, a different hero wanted to defend for you, Ultron II’s attack modifier would depend on the drones that were attached to you, the original player he was activating against. (So if you had one drone attached, and the defender had none, Ultron II would still have +1 ATK when damaging the defending hero.)

-Alex Werner, FFG Game Rules Specialist – May 13, 2022

Can Impede be played while a side scheme with a crisis icon is in play?

Per the rules reference, while at least one crisis icon is in play, threat cannot be removed from the main scheme by any player. The word cannot in the crisis section is absolute. If the crisis icon is in play, Impede cannot be used.

-Alex Werner, FFG Game Rules Specialist – May 13, 2022

Does Unnatural Storm prevent all or part of What Doesn’t Kill You from working, as parts of resolving an ability are meant to ignore other abilities? Does Smoke Bomb would consume a counter if you couldn’t fulfill what it does?

I believe the best way to address your questions is through examples. We discussed both instances of cost and effect and determined the following. With Unnatural Storm and What Doesn’t Kill Me. The card What Doesn’t Kill me uses a cost arrow icon to indicate that in order to ready your hero, you must heal 2. If you cannot pay this cost, you cannot resolve the ability, readying your hero. Additionally, if you cannot resolve the ability on What Doesn’t Kill me, readying your hero, you are also unable to pay the card’s cost, healing 2. In short, if Unnatural Storm is in play, it would prevent the ability on What Doesn’t Kill me from resolving, and as a consequence you would be unable to pay the cost of healing 2.

For Smoke Bombs, you have made a fair complaint about this card. After discussing, we determined that he cost arrow should have been replaced with then instead. Smoke Bomb’s forced response should read as : after the villain attacks you, remove 1 bomb counter from here. Then discard 1 event from your hand with the lowest cost. We plan to errata this card and the other bomb cards in the set.

[FFG Games Rules Specialist] Alex Werner – May 16, 2022

This is about Sinister Motives and Venom villain’s forced response. As event cards are not in control by the player, are Venom’s force response triggered when you damage him using an attack event card?

We determined that, for the purposes of the Venom scenario, an attack event card would be considered “a card you control” that could “attack and damage Venom.” Since this ruling has the potential to complicate other cases where card ownership and control is a factor, we may errata the text on Venom to reflect this decision.

[FFG Games Rules Specialist] Alex Werner – May 16, 2022

I have a question about enemy responses to “activating against you” such as on Infinity Gauntlet, or “attacks you” such as on Ultron I. In each case, does the response resolve if an ally defends the attack? Also, if an attack initiates against Player 1 and Player 2 defends, which player resolves the response? Thanks!

  • Firstly, even if an ally defends against an attack, the villain is still considered to have attacked the player that controls that ally.
  • Secondly, for the cards you mentioned, what’s important to note is that both cards use the word “after” (and “Response”) to signal their timing triggers. This “after” tells us that their abilities are checking which player defended against/was targeted by the ability.
  • So, whichever player defended against Infinity Gauntlet’s villain’s attack or Ultron I’s attack would be the one to resolve the rest of their respective effects.
  • (Note, we may errata Infinity Gauntlet to specify “After attached villain activates against you” for consistency.)

-Alex Werner, FFG Game Rules Specialist – May 20, 2022

Can Valkyrie Hero and Valkyrie Ally be in play at the same time?

According to the rules for Unique cards, Valkyrie (the ally) could not be put into play so long as Valkyrie (the hero) was already in play. Valkyrie (the ally) could only be used for a resource during that game.

Alex Werner, FFG Game Rules Specialist – May 20, 2022

What does it mean to have an ally “treated as a minion”? Does it become a minion and you lose control of the card (effectively, becoming an Encounter card)?

Can you choose to exhaust Venom ally while it’s being treated as a minion? Question was raised when Venom got Manipulated Mind (from Mysterio) attached to him and then got Snitches get Stitches

When an ally is forced to be treated as a minion, yes, you would lose control of that card, and you would be unable to exhaust that card (as if it were an ally you controlled). So, in the case you described, if Venom got “treated as a minion” and then Snitches Get Stitches was attached to him, the owner of the Venom card could not exhaust him, because he is currently not under that player’s control.

[FFG Games Rules Specialist] Alex Werner – May 31, 2022

Light at The End has Hinder, but at any point it’s instructed that it should be revealed, only put into play

The intent behind Light at the End is that the threat indicated next to “Hinder” would be added to the card when it is first put into play. We may update “Hinder” to reflect this ruling.

[FFG Games Rules Specialist] Alex Werner – May 31, 2022

Back to top


June, 2022

In some of the campaigns, players earn certain cards during the scenario. e.g. RoRS – Taskmaster – Captive Allies, MTS – Tower Defense – Shawarma, MTS – Loki – Captive Allies. When you gain these cards, you add them to your hand or deck or play area. You gain control of them. But… you do not gain ownership of them (you only “own” the cards in your deck at the start of the game). Does this mean, that once you used them (i.e. they leave play for the first time), they get removed from the game?

We have the feeling, that they are meant to go into your discard pile and continue to be part of your deck for the rest of the scenario, but there is nothing we can find, that confirms this. Of course, once the scenario is over, you will often gain these cards as permanent additions to your deck, and in the scenarios to follow, you can use them repeatedly as any other player card. But the question is about the scenario where you actually gain them and what happens during that scenario after they leave play. So, do they get removed from the game then?

Campaign-specific cards are meant to be used as directed by the campaign guide or scenario they are relevant to. If players gain campaign-specific cards during a scenario (like Shawarma), and are instructed to shuffle the campaign-specific cards into their decks, they can treat those cards as a part of their decks during the scenario. Whether or not they “own” the card should not matter; the card (Shawarma in this case) is now a part of the deck, and can be treated like any other (resource) card in that player’s deck. The only limit that applies to all campaign-specific cards is that they must be removed from player decks once the campaign is over.

Alex Werner, FFG Game Rules Specialist – June 2, 2022

How does Jarnbjorn interact with Shield Toss? Can it be activated multiple times, once for each enemy hit?

If you played Shield Toss and paid its costs, you would be considered to have attacked X times; for each attack, you could activate Jarnbjorn by spending one physical resource (noting that each resource cost must be paid separately. You could not play Strength to resolve more than one Jarnbjorn effect at a time.)

Alex Werner [FFG Game Rules Specialist] – June 2, 2022

Spider-Man’s enhanced spider sense says ‘When a treachery is revealed from the encounter deck cancel its when revealed effects.’ however Adam Warlocks Cosmic Ward says ‘when you reveal a treachery card, cancel its when revealed effects and discard it…’ Is there a intentional distinction on these cards as to where the treachery card is revealed from? For example, in the Mysterio scenario there are encounter cards that are shuffled into your player deck. Are these cards not considered to be revealed from the encounter deck and if so does that mean Spider-Man can not cancel them?

There is also ‘Return the Favour; that player card discards cards from the encounter deck until a treachery is discarded. You then reveal that treachery and deal 5 damage to an enemy. You have to reveal a treachery as a cost to play the card, however the rules reference states you still consider a treachery to be revealed even if you cancel its effects so I believe you can cancel the treachery card.

However, when you reveal the treachery it is already in the discard pile so it appears to be being revealed from the discard pile, not from the encounter deck, so does this mean Spider-Man can’t cancel it because he can only cancel treachery cards that are revealed from the encounter deck but Warlock can since he can cancel any treachery which is revealed?

Sorry but if I were to cancel the effects of a treachery which was revealed due to playing “Return the Favour” would I still be able to resolve the effect of “Return the Favour’ and deal 5 damage? My understanding is that revealing the treachery is part of the cost to play “Return the favour” but treachery cards are still considered revealed even if their effects are cancelled, so I could cancel the effects of the treachery and still deal the 5 damage. Is this correct? Some cards like “Enhanced Spider sense” only cancel when revealed effects while other cards like “warp reality” cancel all the effects of the treachery. Could either of these cards be comboed with “return the favour” so I can cancel the effects of the treachery and still deal the damage?

Our ruling for this is, Enhanced Spider-Sense should work just like Cosmic Ward does: when a treachery card is revealed, cancel its “when revealed” effects. Additionally, encounter cards can be thought of as being “from the encounter deck”, even if the method of which they were dealt to you was not directly from the encounter deck (such as in Mysterio’s scenario). Similarly, for Return the Favor, the revealed treachery card should be considered as having come from the encounter deck.

In short, yes, you would be able to respond to Return the Favor with a card like Enhanced Spider-Sense and still deal the 5 damage. The reason is, the “cost” to resolve Return the Favor’s 5 damage is to simply “reveal” the treachery; it does not necessitate the full resolution of that treachery. Most hero cards will cancel “when revealed” effects on treacheries after the treachery card is revealed. If there was a card out there that cancelled the “revealing” of a treachery card, then it would also cancel the 5 damage from Return the Favor.

[FFG Games Rules Specialist] Alex Werner – June 2, 2022

Just looking through the recently revealed cards from the Mutant Genesis box, and I am confused about one of Colossus’s signature cards – Steel Fist – it reads “Hero Action (attack): Deal 5 damage to an enemy. You may discard a tough status card from your hero -> stun and confuse that enemy.” Is the “Deal 5 damage to an enemy” part of the ability cost? If it is, what happens if I play this card whilst Stunned?

The RRG and a previous ruling regarding Defender of the Nine Realms suggest ability costs must be paid even if the effect is replaced by the removal of the Stunned status. Also that both resource and ability costs are paid simultaneously. So, if the 5 damage is not part of the ability cost, is it dealt before or after the cost of discarding a Tough status? Should the cost arrow perhaps be a “then”? Additionally, how does this ability interact with Guard, if I have a Tough status? Can I target the villain, not deal the damage, remove the Tough, and stun the villain?

To answer your question(s):

No, dealing 5 damage while resolving Steel Fist is not part of the cost to Stun & Confuse the targeted enemy. Only discarding Tough is the “cost” to Stun & Confuse an enemy, and you are able to choose to pay that cost or not while resolving Steel Fist.

If you were to play Steel Fist while you were Stunned, you would be forced to discard Stunned instead of resolving the ability text on Steel Fist (and then discard Steel Fist). You would not be forced to discard Tough if you were discarding Stunned this way.

Dealing 5 damage as a part of resolving Steel Fist would occur before you can choose to discard a Tough status.

If a minion with “Guard” was engaged with you, you would not be able to attack the villain or play an attack event targeting the villain. If you were to play Steel Fist, you could target the Guard minion with it (or another minion engaged with you), and you would have to choose the same target to apply Stun/Confuse to.

Alex Werner, FFG Game Rules Specialist – June 3, 2022

Marvel Champions interrupt timing question: The rules state that an “interrupt ability is executed when its triggering condition becomes imminent, but before that triggering condition resolves”. Is there any meaningful difference between “is” and “would be” for interrupts? Example: Defiance says “When a boost card on an enemy attacking you would be turned faceup”, and Preemptive Strike says “When a boost card is turned face up while the villain attacks”. Are both supposed to be played before the card is actually turned faceup? The rule suggests so, but the card texts imply some difference.

It mainly depends on the card if such a distinction is significant or not. For the cards you mentioned: Defiance allows you to discard a boost card without turning it faceup, and Preemptive Strike allows you to cancel boost icons, but requires you to turn the card faceup to do so, since that’s the only way you’d know how many boost icons are being cancelled. For those two cards, the different phrasing matters.

-Alex Werner, FFG Game Rules Specialist – June 4, 2022

Can I play (defense) cards or trigger (defense) abilities outside of an enemy attack, if the triggering condition on the card is otherwise true? For example, can I play Jump Flip (“Hero Interrupt (defense): When you would take any amount of damage, prevent 2 of that damage. If you paid for this card using a resource, remove 2 threat from the main scheme.”) in response to Klaw’s Sound Manipulation (“…Take 2 Damage…”). It seems clear that Spider-Man’s Backflip would not be playable in that situation (as its play condition says “when you would take any amount of damage from an attack…”). In contrast, would Captain America’s Shield Block be playable vs Sound Manipulation or any other non-attack sources of damage (its play condition is only “when you would take any amount of damage…”)

In short, yes, you can play “defense” cards or trigger “defense” abilities in response to something that isn’t an attack. What’s important is that the triggering condition on the “defense” card itself was met. Jump Flip states that it can be triggered “when you would take any amount of damage” and does not specify that it has to be played after an attack. So, you could play Jump Flip in response to Sound Manipulation and prevent the 2 damage that would be dealt to you in hero form. (Klaw would still heal 2 damage, regardless.) Similarly, you could exhaust Shield Block while in hero form in response to Sound Manipulation being revealed and block the 2 damage. (Klaw would still heal.)

-Alex Werner, FFG Game Rules Specialist – June 6, 2022

Valkyrie’s card 6, “Aragorn”, reads “Valkyrie gets +4 hit points and gains the AERIAL trait.” By strict reading this implies that she only possesses the effects of this upgrade while in hero form, causing her to lose both the 4 hit points and AERIAL when she switches to Alter-Ego, and potential being defeated. Is this the intended function of the card?

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This card should say “you” instead of “Valkyrie” to work as intended (like how Thor’s Helmet is worded). Go ahead and treat this card as if it said “you” instead. Switching to Alter-Ego would not change the bonuses the card is granting you.

-Alex Werner, FFG Game Rules Specialist – June 9, 2022

Hi there, had a few questions A few player cards like “press the advantage” and “clear the area” and a few encounter cards like “Channeling Trance” and “chaos in the prison” have a “if” clause that is in a separate sentence. It is the intention for example with press the advantage, if say a stunned minion was defeated by the 2 damage, you would NOT get to draw a card? This is because the word “if” is not an “alteration effect” and when resolving abilities you resolve them one sentence at a time. Wonder if the word if should just become an alteration effect? Second question is about when multiple triggering conditions happen in a row and keep stacking and when windows close? It gets fuzzy when things keep triggering in a row. Is there a rule of thumb to help?

Do you use and then close the most recent window first and like move backwards I’m curious if that’s the case then would the card “clear the area” need to really say “removed” instead of “removes” to work right? Just to clarify how about the triggering conditions question. I think what I meant to ask was not necessarily multiple triggering conditions happening at the same time but rather what happens when things keep triggering off of each other kinda like a stack. Like would you resolve last in first out?

It can depend on the card if an “alteration effect” applies. For Press the Advantage specifically, it does not have an alteration effect. The second sentence of the ability will only apply if the enemy is stunned/confused and still in play. If it’s defeated, that sentence of the ability cannot resolve. As for multiple triggering conditions, Caleb suggests trying to “start at the center and work your way out.” Remember what triggers first (like a Forced ability, or a Response) and continue from there. Also remember that under “Triggering Conditions” in the Online Rules Reference, you can usually resolve abilities triggered during the same window in the order that you choose, assuming one ability doesn’t have to resolve before the other. I hope that helps.

I believe that “removes” was chosen over “removed” for Clear The Area to signal that the condition is checked while the card is resolving. Many other cards that use “if” statements also use present tense verbiage (ex. Never Back Down, “if you take no damage from this attack”.) Even so, whether Clear The Area says “removes” or “removed”, the effect on the game would be the same, since the sentences resolve in order. As for triggering conditions, in general, you would resolve “last in first out” like you said.

-Alex Werner, FFG Game Rules Specialist – June 9, 2022

Can I play a zero-cost card, such as Assess the Situation (Ant-Man #33), and ‘overpay’ for it using, say, Innovation (The Mad Titan’s Shadow #58), in order to benefit from Innovation’s Hero Response?

Because Innovation specifies “after you spend this card”, not “after you pay for” another card with it, you could “spend” it while playing a 0 cost card.

-Alex Werner – June 9, 2022

Have a question about Ironheart. Can I draw cards from paying more than three mental resources for Moon Girl? For example, I use Genius (which has two mental) and three other mental resources to pay for her because Im allowed to overpay. Do I draw 3 cards or 5?

While it is possible to “overpay” for a card, the resources that were overpaid do not count as having “paid for the cost” of the card. So, with Moon Girl’s ability, you could only draw up to 3 cards because her cost is 3. We will likely add this ruling to a future FAQ.

-Alex – June 9, 2022

Another Ironheart question, If Ive used Riri’s Child Prodigy ability once in a round, does the limit still apply if Im somehow able to flip back to AE after swapping to a new version of her ID, or is it similar to the Vision ally ability which becomes a new instance that can be triggered again?

Because Riri Williams specifies a limit per turn instead of a max, the limit on the ability only applies to the specified instance (while max applies to all copies). If you found a way to activate Child Prodigy, flip to hero form, then flip back to Alter Ego form, you could use Child Prodigy again.

-Alex – June 9, 2022

I have some questions about the Forced Interrupt on Maze of Mirrors (Sinister Motives #87B) and Edge of Reality (Sinister Motives #88B), from the Sinister Motives Mysterio scenario. Mysterio has Masterful Mirage (Sinister Motives #90) attached, and I deal damage to Mysterio whilst there are three or fewer card in my deck, I know that I should only discard the remaining cards, reshuffle, deal myself an encounter card, and stop. But, what happens one or more of those cards is an encounter card? Should those be separated out and placed facedown before I reshuffle? Do I get to draw cards for the encounter cards as normal? Presumably after I have reshuffled.

For this unusual situation, we believe this is the way it should be resolved, as to account for all triggers. After attempting to attack Mysterio while he has Masterful Mirage attached:

  • First, discard 4 from the Masterful Mirage trigger (or as many cards as possible).
  • For any encounter cards discarded this way, deal them to yourself (from Maze of Mirrors scheme).
  • Deal yourself 1 additional encounter card as a result of emptying your deck.
  • Shuffle your discard pile into a new deck.
  • Draw cards from your new deck, up to the amount of encounter cards dealt to you when you discarded (minus the 1 additional encounter card) to finish resolving Maze of Mirrors.
  • Discard Masterful Mirage from Mysterio.

-Alex – June 9, 2022

I have some questions about playing the Sinister Motives Sinister Six scenario. I am playing Spider-Man: Peter Parker, from the core set, and am unsure how to handle his Nemesis minion. I understand that if I draw Shadow of the Past whilst the Vulture villain is in play, I should not bring the Vulture minion into play, but should put the side scheme into play, shuffle the rest of the Nemesis set into the encounter deck, and give Shadow of the Past surge. But what happens if the Vulture villain is set aside when I draw Shadow of the Past?

I assume in that instance the Vulture minion would enter play. However, how should I handle the Vulture villain entering play? If the Vulture minion is still in play should it be discarded? Or would the Vulture villain not enter play? Perhaps I should reveal another set aside villain? But then what if Vulture is the only villain set aside?

  • You are correct in that if the Vulture I villain is in play, the Vulture minion cannot enter play; and if the Vulture I villain is not in play, the Vulture minion can enter play.
  • But, in a case where you would be asked to put the Vulture I villain into play when the Vulture minion is already in play:
    • If doing so from the Ambush! ability on the main schemes, put a different villain into play instead. If all of the other villains are already in play, you should skip putting Vulture I into play, and skip moving the active counter.
    • If doing so from the Frequent Flyers treachery card, you should consider Vulture as already in play.

-Alex – June 9, 2022

So, we are hyped for Colossus! Looks like an elegant and instantly classic design. But the community doesn’t quite know how the card “Armor Up” (Mutant Genesis 10) works. We think the intent is that it changes the activation of the villain to an attack, but there doesn’t seem to be anything that says this can happen in the activation entry or the rules that supports this. What happens if I play “Armor Up” when the villain activates against me? In contrast what happens when I play it for an activation (scheme) on another player ? Additionally can I use it when the villain is confused? If the activation changes to an attack, would a stunned status effect still replace the activation, or would the ruling on “Widow’s Bite” (Black Widow 10) apply?

During Step 2 of the Villain Phase, the villain activates against each player, and determines whether it attacks or schemes against each player. Armor Up can interrupt this determination; if Colossus is in Alter-Ego Form when the villain activates against him, he can choose to play Armor Up to switch to Hero form as an interrupt and change the villain’s activation from a scheme activation to an attack activation. Armor Up can also be played when the villain activates against another player, though it would not affect how the villain activates against that player.

If the villain was Confused, and tried to activate while Colossus was in Alter-Ego form, the villain would not activate and instead discard Confused. Colossus could not play Armor Up as an interrupt to that. However, if the villain was Stunned, and Colossus was in Alter-Ego form, the villain would attempt to activate (scheme). Colossus could play Armor Up as an Interrupt to that activation, forcing the villain to attempt an attack activation instead, during which it would discard Stunned.

-Alex – June 9, 2022

Does Ultron II’s attack buff from his Forced Interrupt persist if he is defeated (and becomes Ultron III) between the time the Forced Interrupt triggers and damage calculation. For example, if Ultron II is at 1 HP and Spider-UK defends against his attack? If the number of drones engaged with the original target of Ultron II’s attack changes between the time the Forced Interrupt triggers and damage calculation, does the amount of +ATK he has change accordingly? For example, if a Boost Effect like Concussive Blast were to destroy Squirrel Girl, and the controlling player were to play rapid response, “recurring” Squirrel Girl and destroying all the drones engaged with the original target of Ultron II’s attack?

Yes, if Ultron II initiated an attack and became Ultron III before the he dealt damage from the attack, his ability would create a lasting effect, giving him a persistent +1 ATK for each Drone minion engaged with you. (And, Spider-UK could cause this to happen, since he deals damage once he’s declared as the defender of the attack.) In the second situation described, where Squirrel Girl could come into play and defeat a bunch of Drone minions, Ultron II would lose his ATK bonuses because his ability is constant; up until the point of dealing damage, he checks how many Drone minions are currently engaged with the target.

-Alex – June 9, 2022

How does the newly revealed “Mutant Protectors” work? This card looks awesome, but it is really confusing us, especially its (defense) label. Mutant Protectors says “Hero Interrupt (defense): When an enemy attacks, put an X-MEN ally into play from your hand. Exhaust it and declare it the defender for this attack.” Does “Defend, Defense” bullet #4 make the player’s identity the defender when that player begins resolving a (defense) ability? If so, does bullet 2 prevent Mutant Protectors’ second sentence from successfully resolving? If it doesn’t, why not? Does “Defend, Defense” bullet #4 make the player’s identity the defender when that player finishes resolving a (defense) ability? If so, does bullet #3 mean this card is not playable in the first place?

Or does the player’s ID end up the defender after all? Does the (defense) label have any effect? Mutant Protectors does not appear to provide an explicit exception to following normal “defense” rules. It only seems to require such an exception because it has the (defense) label, while the label itself doesn’t seem to have any relevant effect in the normal use of the card. We are really puzzled about why it is there in the first place, if in the normal course of events, it is ignored – but in the unusual situation in which the player has already defended the attack, it is able to override Defense rules and make the ally the defender anyways (but without an explicit exception to defense rules allowing such a thing).

Sorry for the rambling, the short version of our questions are: 1. How does playing Mutant Protectors work? At what point, if at all, is the resolving player’s identity the defender? 2. What exactly does it mean to “declare [a character] the defender” for an attack? 3. After playing Mutant Protectors, did I “defend”? Can I trigger “Indomitable”? If my identity took no damage, can I trigger “Unflappable”?

There are two main considerations for the Mutant Protectors card: The “defense” keyword signals that the player controlling Mutant Protectors is now the defender of the attack. While your ally defends against an attack, “you” are not the one defending. In other words, following an enemy’s attack initiation, you can play Mutant Protectors as a Hero Interrupt to declare yourself as the defender of the attack, and then immediately play an X-Men ally to become the new defender of the attack (who ultimately takes the damage from the attack).

Only one character can be the defender of an attack (the X-Men ally in this case), so your identity would not be considered the defender of the attack, and you could not resolve Indomitable or Unflappable in response to the defense.

-Alex – June 9, 2022

When i use Summoning Spell to get Black Pather in to play, can i get Summoning Spell back?

Yes. Black Panther (ally)’s ability specifies “After” he is put into play, you then attach a Leadership card to him. Once Summoning Spell puts Black Panther (ally) into play, it would have finished resolving, and Black Panther’s ability would then trigger.

-Alex Werner – June 9, 2022

When you play “sneak attack” and choose the “black panther”ally, can you choose the sneak attack you played him with with his response to entering play? The timing of when sneak attack enters the discard pile and the response window being open for black Panthers ability got tricky for us when reading sneak attack one sentence at a time and the last sentence is after black panther is in play.

  • Yes. Black Panther (ally)’s ability specifies “After” he is put into play, you then attach a Leadership card to him. Once Sneak Attack puts Black Panther (ally) into play, it would have finished resolving (except for its lasting effect), and Black Panther’s ability would then trigger.
  • (Just note, Sneak Attack would create a lasting effect requiring you to discard Black Panther at the end of the phase.)

-Alex Werner – June 9, 2022

Hello there! I’m wondering how the setup steps are supposed to go when playing as Vision in the Ultron scenario. When exactly do I put Intangible into play? Is it before I draw my opening hand, and before Ultron puts the top card of my deck into play as an Ultron drone? I’m not sure if a double sided card could even be a drone anyway seeing as it doesn’t have a “facedown” side, but I’ve seen some people who are adamant that Intangible stays in your deck and doesn’t get put into play until after you draw your opening hand.

We are planning to update the “Permanent” keyword in a future FAQ, specifying that Permanents are not meant to be part of one’s deck. More specific to your situation, you should not shuffle Intangible/Dense into your deck during Step 6 of Setup; it is intended to be available to you when you resolve your Character Setup during Step 15.

-Alex – June 9, 2022

If War Machine has 0 ammo counters can I use a gauntlet gun generate a resource and an ammo counter to play repulsor beam? Or if I have 2 ammo counters could I use two gauntlet guns to pay the costs for full auto?

“Yes and yes, both situations you described are viable. You can use Gauntlet Gun to generate a wild resource and an ammo for the War Machine event you’re preparing to play.”

-Alex – June 9, 2022

I have a few follow up questions about how exactly [this Impede interaction] works… I assume that Impede can’t be played whilst a Crisis icon is in play due to the ‘game state change’ rule, that says an ability may not be initiated unless it’s effects are capable of changing the game state. If so, would the same apply if the main scheme had zero threat, and there were no Crisis icon in play? Is the second sentence of Impede’s ability not considered sufficient to meet the game state change condition (assuming it were the first card you played that round)? Would the answer change if Impede had a different secondary effect, such as “Deal 2 damage to an enemy”?

The game state change rules also say that this should be assessed without considering interactions with other abilities. So, is it the case that you do consider interactions with icons? Or does the absoluteness of the ‘cannot’ rule supersede this part of the ‘game state change’ rule? For example, if the Crisis effect were to appear on a side scheme as a simple constant ability, “Players cannot remove threat from the main scheme whilst this scheme is in play” say, would that also prevent playing Impede?

  • You would not be able to play Impede while there was no threat in play. You must be able to play the card in order to return it back to your hand, so if you cannot play it because there’s no threat, you could not play it just to return it to your hand either.
  • And yes, if there is a game effect—either an icon or specific wording—that states you “cannot” remove threat from play, that “cannot” is absolute and prevents the game state from changing in that way (removing threat). You could not play Impede if you “cannot” remove threat.

-Alex – June 16, 2022

Hi there, timing question for you guys. Player Cards like “counterattack” and “shake it off” respond to “receiving damage from an attack” which is step 4 of the enemy attack sequence. Do these responses share the same timing response window of responses with “after being attacked”? for example the retaliate keyword. And if so, retaliate would resolve first in priority correct?

You are correct in that, if you were in a situation where you could activate (for example) “Counterattack” and you also had “Retaliate”, “Retaliate” would resolve first because it’s a keyword (with timing that falls into that window). We will likely add to a future FAQ that keywords should be resolved either similar to “constant abilities” or that keywords ARE constant abilities. In either case, they take timing priority over “interrupt” and “response” abilities. -Alex

-Alex – June 16, 2022

Question about the minion in the core set from masters of evil “whirlwind” when you resolve his attack against each other player, how does that work? does each other player one by one get to defend and everything starting with the player engaged with him Or how is this intended to work.

When you resolve Whirlwind’s attack against each other player, he is meant to attack each player simultaneously. Each player should follow the steps for Attack (Enemy Activation) as they resolve this effect. (Each player is a target, each player can choose to defend against the individual attack against them or take the 2 damage.)

-Alex – June 16, 2022

Some minions have non-triggered abilities regarding engagement (like Black Swan or Garm). Are these considered constant abilities, and if so, does that mean that when the first player changes, the minion will move to engage the new first player?

Both Black Swan and Garm have constant abilities; both of them will be constantly checking who the first player is, and are intended to move when the first player marker does. -Alex

-Alex – June 16, 2022

The basic ally gamora card from the drax pack has a “hero response” instead of a “response” The justice ally wraith from the nebula pack has a “hero interrupt” instead of a “interrupt” Is this intentional? Maybe an oversight 2nd The basic upgrade card target acquired from the black widow pack has a “response” trigger, should this be an interrupt instead?

Yes, the text on both cards should be resolved as written. Gamora’s and Wraith’s abilities can only be activated while their controllers are in hero form. Target Acquired probably should have been an interrupt, like most other cards that cancel boost abilities or icons, but you should still be able to resolve it as written: when the boost card is turned face up, but before the boost ability resolves, discard Target Acquired to cancel the boost ability.

-Alex – June 16, 2022

If I play Armor Up on Master Mold while he is activating against me as Rasputin turning into Colossus, would he get a sentinel minion and attack me with no boost card? (Based on a previous Armor Up ruling)

If you were in Alter-Ego form when Master Mold was about to activate, you could use Armor Up to change to hero form and change Master Mold’s activation from a scheme activation to an attack activation. (You would need to play Armor Up right before Master Mold determines how he activates against you. MM’s Forced Interrupt triggers once he’s already determined to be scheming against you.)

-Alex – June 16, 2022

Regarding the alteration effect rule added in 1.4 RR. The card “have at thee” in the Valkyrie hero pack, when resolving the card one sentence at a time, it makes it almost impossible to gain overkill because the first sentence would defeat most minions outright who would then be discarded causing death glow to be set aside out of play before you can ever check for the death glow being attached. There are so many examples of the word “if” being in a second sentence in the card pool that either don’t work or don’t seem to be the intention or spirit of the design.

It’s really bothered me and so many others. Do you think “the alteration effect” could be reworked to include the word “if” or rules changed completely to something like “when resolving card abilities, read the entire card to check for situations that could alter the resolution” maybe give an example like “press the advantage” checking for stun or confusion or “have at thee” checking for the death glow being attached” before resolving the card and then applying the things you checked for if applicable. Please please please. There are even encounter card examples with the word “if” where the rules as written don’t seem to go with the spirit of the card and would also benefit from what I’m talking about.

  • Regarding “Have At Thee!”, we would like you to treat the card as intended: should you use this card, and the enemy it was used on had Death-Glow attached, treat the attack/7 damage as having Overkill and deal the excess damage to the villain.
  • We are going to look into if we want to declare “if” statements in card abilities as also “alteration effects.”

-Alex – June 16, 2022

When Ms Marvel Hero uses her response to return an attack/defense/thwart card to her hand where does she return it from? If an eligible event removed itself from game after use would she still be able to return it to her hand? I wonder this because she doesnt say return from the discard pile.

To answer your question(s):

To answer your second question, if a card removed itself from the game, Ms. Marvel should not be able to return it to her hand. The main reason for this is that her ability is a “Response” triggered ability, which has the lowest priority over other abilities.

If a card were to remove itself from the game as part of its ability text, it would do so before Ms. Marvel had a window of opportunity to return it to her hand, because her response happens after it’s resolved in full.

Ms. Marvel’s ability triggers after the event card is resolved. If removing the card from the game is part of its resolution, it will be out of the game before Ms. Marvel’s ability can trigger. You can think of Ms. Marvel’s ability as retrieving the card from her discard pile–just note that she has to activate her ability while the “Response” window is still open.

-Alex – June 21, 2022

My question involves the Sinister Motives campaign Reputation Track and the Sinister Six scenario side scheme Light at the End. Since the win condition is on the side scheme, does that side scheme “leave play”? The Reputation Track gives you +1 if there are no side schemes in play. However, that would be impossible to earn if Light and the End doesn’t leave play when you win. Is this the intent?

In this scenario, Light at the End is a permanent, so it cannot leave play. Unfortunately, this scenario will prevent you from receiving +1 from having no side schemes in play.

-Alex – June 23, 2022

Can you play the Flash Thompson Venom hero against the Venom villain in Sinister Motives, legally?

  • Honestly, we think that if a player wanted to play Venom against Venom, then they should be able to. We recognize the rules reference states that only one copy of each unique card by title can be in play, but there is also no specific ruling in place for when a hero and a villain share the same title (unlike a unique minion and another character with the same title).
  • Just be sure that, if you do this, cards that target a specific “Venom” affect the appropriate one (like Run and Gun should only affect the Venom hero, since it’s one of the cards in his set).

-Alex – June 23, 2022

Does the Hazard icon on this card apply to all players as though it was on a side-scheme, or does it apply to the player who has equipped the suit only?

The intent for the Hazard icon is that one additional encounter card in total will be dealt to players during step 3 of the villain phase. This additional card (assuming there’s just 1 Hazard icon in play) would be dealt to the first player, regardless of who controls the Symbiote Suit. We apologize for the confusion, and may update the wording of the rules reference to make this more clear.

-Alex

-Alex – June 24, 2022

I believe in a live stream they mentioned being able to reduce the cost of Spider-Man (Basic Peter) with helicarrier but still having to overpay to meet the 3 icon resource requirement? Is this impossible if those payments aren’t applied to the card?

Also another spend/cost question.

When do you draw a card in response to spending (like with Pym Particles) is it mid spend, after the played card resolves, after all the resource enters the discard?

While it is possible to “overpay” for a card, the resources that were overpaid do not count as having “paid for the cost” of the card. So, with Moon Girl’s ability, you could only draw up to 3 cards because her cost is 3. We will likely add this ruling to a future FAQ.

Your understanding of costs and paying seems to be correct. You can “overpay” for cards, but you cannot be considered to have “paid” more toward a card’s cost than its printed cost value. Also, we ruled it possible to “spend” a card during cases where it’s not being used to “pay” for another card’s cost (namely spending Innovation while playing a 0-cost card). Helicarrier only treats the cost of a card as 1 less than its printed value. It cannot override Spider-Man (Peter Parker basic ally)’s Resource Requirement. Additionally, activating Helicarrier would make it impossible to properly pay for this Spider-Man, because you cannot satisfy his 3-Resource Requirement while only being able to “pay” 2 resources toward his cost.

-Alex – June 24, 2022

The rules reference states that only one character can defend an attack and playing a defense card makes your identity the target of an attack. I assume that this means if I exhaust an ally to defend and they then defeated by a boost ability I can’t then play a card like shield block to stop my hero from taking the damage. But can I use a card like shield block which has the defense tab to block overkill damage since overkill wouldn’t count as an attack against my hero? Or am I unable to play that card since we will still be in an attack window and only one character can be declared defender?

  • Thank you for your question. We believe that you should be able to play Shield Block in order to prevent Overkill damage and become the new defender of the attack, and we will plan to update the Rules Reference to reflect this.
  • We will most likely change “Defend, Defense” to say that WHILE an ally is defending against an attack, no other friendly character can defend, opening up the possibility for you to declare yourself defender if that ally was defeated before the attack finishes. (Go ahead and play your games using this ruling.)

-Alex – June 24, 2022

Hi, I understand that it has been ruled that “(defense)” abilities such as Jump Flip may be used outside of an attack. Can you clarify how this works? Are you considered to have defended? Can I respond to using Jump Flip outside of an attack by triggering Indomitable (“Response: After your hero defends, discard indomitable → ready your hero.”), assuming my identity is exhausted, for example? Thanks, Scott Hill (The Card Text)

You can play defense cards so long as you satisfy their triggers, but you are not considered to have “defended” against something that’s not an attack. You could not trigger Indomitable if you used a defense event on a non-attack.

-Alex – June 24, 2022

For the Danger Room card, revealed in Cyclops’ article today: how do the triggering conditions work?

Danger Room’s ability must be activated by an identity that’s in Alter-Ego form, since it’s an “Alter-Ego Response” ability. It’s just worded in a way to allow a player that isn’t the card’s controller to activate it while that player is in Alter-Ego form (and a Mutant).

-Alex – June 24, 2022

My question is regarding basic ally Vivian. Her effect blanks the text box of an attachment, non-elite minion, or non-permanent side scheme, except for traits. The RRG 1.4 definition of “text box” says that it includes printed abilities, traits, and flavor text. My question is, does Vivian blank icons like crisis/hazard/acceleration/amplify? In the definition of “icon”, they are not listed as abilities. From my understanding, since icons aren’t abilities, they are not included in the text box and so wouldn’t be blanked by Vivian.

Yes, Vivian would treat any icons on the attachment or side scheme as blank until the end of the round.

-Alex – June 30, 2022

If Star Lord pulls Shadows of the Past as his first treachery card, does Mister Knife cause Shadows of the Past to surge?

No, he would not give it surge, since he was not in play during the moment Shadow of the Past was revealed. 

No, he would not give it surge, since he was not in play during the moment Shadow of the Past was revealed.

-Alex – June 30, 2022

I just wanted to make sure that Garm (and similar minions) always engage the first player. So when the first player changes Gorm engages the new first player? Thor is not the first player and has the aerial trait. He plays “Get over here!” on Garm. Does Garm engage Thor and trigger Thor’s ability? On a similar note: Do Cosmo (from the campaign) and Odin (the side with the King trait) change who controls them when the first player changes? As a constant ability it should stay active until the card leaves play. Is there a difference between “The first player gains control of Odin” and “The first player controls the Milano” on the respective cards?

Yes; Garm and similar minions are intended to engage the first player, even when the first player changes between rounds. Thor can play “Get Over Here!” to deal 1 damage to and momentarily engage Garm, during which Thor could draw 2 cards if he hadn’t already that phase, but Garm would immediately engage the first player again because of its constant ability. Cosmo and Odin (All-Father) will also change who controls them when the first player changes. There is no mechanical difference between “the first player gains control of” and “the first player controls.”

-Alex – June 30, 2022

1.With the card “hex bolt” do you choose the order you resolve the bullet points after discarding the 3 cards all at once? 2. With the card “gauntlet gun”, can you use it’s resource ability when paying a cost outside of for a warmachine event just to get the ammo counter? 3.Does the cards “counterattack” and “shake it off” share the same timing window as “after defends” and “after attacked” effects? Meaning retaliate would have priority? 4.The bold SETUP for spectrum, vision and Valk don’t seem to work the same as with black panther and captain America as SETUP is the very last step when setting up a game? Is there going to be an errata? 5. I’m running into a lot of issues following the rule about resolving cards abilities one sentence at a time that don’t have an alteration effect. I’ve seen some rulings that make exceptions to this rule outside of alteration effects, is there a plan to expand the alteration effect entry? 6. When could we expect to see an updated online rules reference? 7. With the ebony maw scenario, villain stage II and Main scheme 1B have conflicting when revealed effects, is this intentional? If so, does the player choose the order of when revealed effects? If not, should villain stage II also read like main scheme 1b?

  1. Yes, you would choose the order in which you resolved the effects of Hex Bolt.
  2. No; Gauntlet Gun is a Resource ability, and must be activated with the intent to play a War Machine event card.
  3. This may be a bit different than we recently ruled because expanding the card pool made us reconsider the timing of these cards. Based on the steps of Attack (Enemy Activation), we determined that the card abilities would resolve in the following order: Counterattack/Shake It Off, then Retaliate, then “after you defend”. When damage is dealt during Step 4 of the activation, Counterattack/Shake It Off can trigger, but Retaliate and “after you defend” only trigger after all items within Step 4 resolve. Hopefully that makes sense.
  4. We are not planning a specific errata to our Setup rules. The only thing we are planning at the moment is to update the “Permanent” keyword to state that those cards are not shuffled into your deck during Setup. If you have any specific questions about the Setup for a given character, please feel free to ask.
  5. We are looking into possibly expanding alteration effects, but do not have anything specific at this time. That said, please ask if you have any questions about card interactions.
  6. We do not have a date in mind for a Rules Reference update. We are working on one, and will release it when it’s ready.
  7. You should resolve the Setup instructions and “When Revealed” effects on the main scheme before resolving the “When Revealed” effects on the villain stage. (This is implied in the steps of “Setup” but will become more clear in future scenarios.)

-Alex – June 30, 2022

Can Rocket hero draw multiple cards using melee?

If Rocket Racoon plays Melee against two Hydra Bomber minions, he would draw a card after each sentence of Melee is resolved, for a total of 2 cards drawn.

-Alex – June 30, 2022

The Space Stone in the Infinity Gauntlet modular set reads: “Discard cards from the top of the until a minion is discarded -> put that minion into play engaged with you. Place this card in the infinity stone deck discard pile.” If you discard and no minion enters play, does the part after the arrow not resolve? Meaning the stone stays in play? Based on your errata of Smoke Bombs, will this arrow be turned into a “then”? Or based on your Steel Fist ruling, does the second sentence ignore the cost condition?

We admit that Space Stone probably should not have used a cost arrow. That said, note that its ability text is split into two sentences, one with “cost > effect 1” and one with “effect 2” that resolve independently from one another. The “cost” of discarding cards only applies to the “effect” of putting a minion into play engaged with you. The second sentence resolves regardless of the first.

Here’s how you’d resolve Space Stone: Discard cards from the encounter deck, until either a minion is revealed or the encounter deck empties. If a minion was discarded, put it into play engaged with you. If the encounter deck was emptied, refresh the encounter deck, stop discarding, and treat that part of the ability as “fulfilled.” Finally, place Space Stone in the Infinity Stone deck discard pile.

-Alex – June 30, 2022

Back to top


Send your rulings into hallofheroescontact(at)gmail.com